Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Accountancy and Finance Seminars

2017 Seminars - Department of Accountancy & Finance, Otago Business School

Semester 1, 2017

“CEO network size and earnings management”

By Professor Paul Griffin, UC Davis California, United States of America
Friday 17 February

“Organisations in Pursuit of the Seemingly Impossible: Using and Assessing the Outcomes of Stretch Goals”

By Professor Chet Miller C.T. Bauer College of Business, University of Houston
Monday 27 February

“What a Difference a Day Makes: The Impact of Trading Days on Forecast Accuracy and Management Performance Attributions

By Associate Professor Stephen Hillegeist, Arizona State University
Friday 10 March

“The Genesis of Control Configurations During Organisational Founding”

By Professor Laura Cardinal, Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina
Friday 17 March

“A Model-Free Tail Index and Its Return Predictability"

By Dr Jinji Hao, Victoria University of Wellington
Friday 17 March

“Moving to Big Data and workforce planning: the ANZ experience”

By Ms Antonia Watson, Managing Director, Retail & Business Banking, ANZ
Friday 24 March

“NZASB Standard-Setting Update”

By Anthony Heffernan, Director Accounting Standards, External Reporting Board
Friday 7 April

“The Effects of Home Country Institutions on Under-pricing of Foreign IPOs in the US”

By Dr Jonathan Jona, University of Melbourne
Friday 21 April

“The Performance of Institutional Investors Across the Supply Chain”

By Professor Andy Puckett, University of Tennessee
Friday 28 April

“Influencing stakeholders to form perceptions using website intangibles disclosure in entrepreneurial small businesses”

by Professor Indra Abeysekera, S P Jain School of Global Management, Sydney
Friday 5 May

“Confidence matters: a study of self-efficiency beliefs in accounting education”

by Nicola Beatson
Friday 12 May

“Economic Integration Breeds Foreign Investment: Evidence from the Portfolio Allocation of Investment Funds around the World”

By Associate Professor Eliza Wu, University of Sydney
Friday 19 May

“Fatigued and Distracted: Investor Under reaction to Market Sensitive Announcements”

By , Dr Victoria Clout University of Sydney
Friday 23 June

Semester 2, 2017

“Country Governance and International Equity Returns”

by Professor Ben Marshall, Massey University
Friday 14 July

“Matters needing consideration in 2017 – Threats and Opportunities for New Zealand Businesses”

By Mr Warren Allen, External Reporting Board
Thursday 27 July

“Workplace safety in the Bangladesh ready-made garments industry: Examining the interplay between governance, culture and organisational behaviour”

By , professor Craig Deegan RMIT University
Friday 28 July

“Crash Risk Premium in Momentum Portfolio Returns: US and further International Evidence”

By Professor Takeshi Yamada, Australian National University
Friday 11 August

“Ethics as a strategy: Evidence from a longitudinal case study”

By Dr Sriya Kumarasinghe
Friday 25 August

“Do Corporate Managers Manipulate Disclosure through Changing 10-K File Size?”

by Dr Buhui Qiu University of Sydney
Friday 1 September

“Blowing the Whistle on Fraud: Does Employee Treatment Matter?”

by Professor Charl Johannes De Villiers, University of Auckland
Friday 15 September

“Uncovering Everyday Worlds: Exploring Variation in the way Students Perceive Accounting”

by Associate Professor Nicholas McGuigan University of Monash
Friday 29 September

“Executive pay disparity and cost of debt financing”

by Dr Daisy Chou
Friday 6 October

“Creative Accounting, Fraud and International Accounting Scandals”

by Professor Michael Jones, University of Bristol
Friday 13 October

“Governance and Liquidity Management in Australian Listed Companies”

by Dr Gurmeet Bhabra
Friday 24 November in room CO3.37 from 1:30pm to 3:00pm

2016 Seminars

“My career in the finance sector + Q&A"

By Mr Michael Smith, Goldman Sachs Partner and Real Estate Group in Asia Pacific ex-Japan and Southeast Asia Investment Banking, based in Singapore
Wednesday 3 February

“Competition for Order flow and Price Discovery: The Curious Case of High-tech Entrants”

by Dr Gbenga Ibikunle, University of Edinburgh
Tuesday 9 February

“Inside the Director Network: When Insiders Trade Outside Stocks”

By Dr Paul Koch’s, (University of Kansas)
Monday 22 February

“Pricing initial engagements and interim reviews”

by Dr Tom Scott, University of Auckland
Friday 26 February

“Measuring SMEs’ reputation, engagement and goodwill: A tool that includes internet presence and social media following”

by Dr Ros Whiting , Associate Professor Paul Hansen and Dr Anindya Sen
Friday 11 March

“Price Discovery in Thinly Traded Futures Markets: How Thin is Too Thin?”

by Prof Martin Bohl, University of Münster
Friday 18 March

“How Performance Measurement Systems help firms achieve Intended Ambidexterity: The role of Cognitive Conflict”

by Professor Breda Sweeney, National University of Ireland
Wednesday 23 March

“Help or Hindrance? Boardroom Network Connectivity and Firm Performance”

By Dr Aaron Gilbert, Auckland University of Technology
Friday 22 April

“Who joins a sinking ship and why? Some evidence on independent directors who join fraudulent firms.”

by Prof Zoltan Matolcsy, University of Technology Sydney
Friday 29 April

“Firms’ choices of cross-listing destinations and earnings quality: A US-UK comparison”

by Prof David Emanuel, University of Auckland
Friday 6 May

“NGO collaboration and conflict mineral disclosure transparency: evidence from global companies”

by Prof Chris Van Staden, AUT
Friday 20 May

“Entering the accounting profession: the operationalization of ethnicity-based discrimination”

by Professor Rachel Baskerville, Victoria University
Friday 17 June

“Title yet to be provided”

By , Dr Victoria Clout University of Sydney
Friday 23 June

"Momentum returns, market states and market dynamics: Is China different?”

by Associate Prof Gilbert Nartea, University of Waikato
Friday 24 June

"Trading Cost Decomposition during Federal Funds Rate Announcement”

by Dr Ivan Indriawan, AUT
Friday 8 July

“Financial Analysts’ Long-term Growth Forecasts and Market Efficiency with Respect to Firms’ Innovative Efficiency”

by Prof Phil Shane, Mason School of Business, College of William and Mary, USA
Friday 5 August

“The Value of Institutional Brokerage Relationships: Evidence from the Collapse of Lehman Brothers”

by Prof Jerry Parwada, University of New South Wales
Friday 12 August

“Direct and Substitution Effects of Regulations Affecting the Scope for Classification Shifting”

by Associate Professor Mark Wilson, Australian National University
Friday 19 August

“Mandatory CSR Disclosure and Information Asymmetry: Evidence from a Quasi-natural Experiment in China”

by Prof Jing Shi , RMIT
Friday 26 August

“Financial Markets in the Face of the Apocalypse”

by Associate Prof Jedrzej Bialkowski, University of Canterbury
Friday 2 September

“Audit Fees, Earnings Management and Financial Statement Conformance to Benford’s Law ”

by Associate Professor Sue Wright, Macquarie University, Sydney Australia
Friday 9 September

“What I've Learned About Teaching During [GASP!!]45 Years at the University of Otago”

by A/Prof Peter Schwartz, University of Otago Department of Pathology
Friday 23 September

“Decomposing the Market, Industry, and Firm Components of Profitability: Implications for Forecasting”

by Dr Andrew Jackson, University of New South Wales
Friday 30 September

“Challenges that Lay Ahead of the IASB”

by Prof Stephen Zeff, Rice University, USA
Friday 7 October

“Board Monitoring and Covenant Restrictiveness in Private Debt Contracts during the Global Financial Crisis”

by Professor Paul Mather, La Trobe University
Friday 14 October

“Plain English’ and say-on-pay: regulatory requirements v’s potential behavioural consequences”

by Professor Lynn Hodgkinson, Bangor University
Monday 21 November