Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Biochemistry at Otago: Our people

Head of Department

Catherine Day 2017

Professor Catherine Day

Head of Department

Location

Room 2.33

Telephone

+64 3 479 7864

Email

catherine.day@otago.ac.nz

Group leaders

Mik Black

Mik Black

Associate Professor

Location

Room 3.16c

Telephone

+64 3 479 7831

Email

mik.black@otago.ac.nz

Chris Brown

Chris Brown

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 2.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 5201

Email

chris.brown@otago.ac.nz

Lynette Brownfield

Lynette Brownfield

Lecturer

Location

Room 3.08e

Telephone

+64 3 479 5151

Email

lynette.brownfield@otago.ac.nz

Alan Carne

Alan Carne

Associate Professor

Location

Room 1.19a

Telephone

+64 3 479 7855

Email

alan.carne@otago.ac.nz

Peter Dearden

Peter Dearden

Professor

Location

Room 1.02b

Telephone

+64 3 479 7832

Email

peter.dearden@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Diermeier

Sarah Diermeier

Lecturer

Location

Arriving January 2018

Telephone

+64 3 479 TBA

Email

sarah.diermeier@otago.ac.nz

Anita Dunbler

Anita Dunbier

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 3.26e

Telephone

+64 3 479 9258

Email

anita.dunbier@otago.ac.nz

Julian Eaton-Rye

Julian Eaton-Rye

Professor

Location

Room 3.08d

Telephone

+64 3 479 7865

Email

julian.eaton-rye@otago.ac.nz

Paul Gardner

Paul Gardner

Senior Lecturer

Location

Arriving January 2018

Telephone

+64 3 479 TBA

Email

ppgardner@gmail.com

Monica Gerth

Monica Gerth

Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.14c

Telephone

+64 3 479 7836

Email

monica.gerth@otago.ac.nz

Parry Guilford

Parry Guilford

Research Professor

Location

Room 3.26g

Telephone

+64 3 479 7673

Email

parry.guilford@otago.ac.nz

Stephanie Hughes

Stephanie Hughes

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 2.17a

Telephone

+64 3 479 3761

Email

stephanie.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Kurt_Krause_2

Kurt Krause

Professor

Location

Room 1.07b

Telephone

+64 3 479 5166

Email

kurt.krause@otago.ac.nz

Iain Lamont

Iain Lamont

Professor

Location

Room 2.28

Telephone

+64 3 479 7869

Email

iain.lamont@otago.ac.nz

Liz Ledgerwood

Liz Ledgerwood

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 2.01c

Telephone

+64 3 479 5195

Email

liz.ledgerwood@otago.ac.nz

Peter Mace

Peter Mace

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 2.03c

Telephone

+64 3 479 7845

Email

peter.mace@otago.ac.nz

Richard Macknight

Richard Macknight

Associate Professor

Location

Room 3.08b

Telephone

+64 3 479 5149

Email

richard.macknight@otago.ac.nz

Craig Marshall

Craig Marshall

Associate Professor

Location

Room 1.01f

Telephone

+64 3 479 7570

Email

craig.marshall@otago.ac.nz

Sally McCormick

Sally McCormick

Professor

Location

Room 2.01b

Telephone

+64 3 479 7840

Email

sally.mccormick@otago.ac.nz

TonyMerriman

Tony Merriman

Professor

Location

Room 3.16f

Telephone

+64 3 479 7846

Email

tony.merriman@otago.ac.nz

Wayne Patrick

Wayne Patrick

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 1.14c

Telephone

+64 3 479 7854

Email

wayne.patrick@otago.ac.nz

Russell Poulter

Russell Poulter

Associate Professor

Location

Room 3.13a

Telephone

+64 3 479 7856

Email

russell.poulter@otago.ac.nz

Warren Tate

Warren Tate

Professor

Location

Room 1.11d

Telephone

+64 3 479 7839

Email

warren.tate@otago.ac.nz

Sigurd Wilbanks

Sigurd Wilbanks

Senior Lecturer

Location

Room 1.21

Telephone

+64 3 479 7850

Email

sigurd.wilbanks@otago.ac.nz

Research-only staff

MargiButler

Margi Butler

Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.13b

Telephone

+64 3 479 5688

Email

margi.butler@otago.ac.nz

Jodi Brewster

Jodi Brewster

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Room 1.14

Telephone

+64 3 479 7849

Email

jodi.brewster@otago.ac.nz

Donna Bond

Donna Bond

Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.08

Telephone

+64 3 479 7872

Email

donna.bond@otago.ac.nz

David Chagné

David Chagné

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Location

Plant & Food Research

Telephone

+64 3 479 7872

Email

david.chagne@plantandfood.co.nz

AugustineChen

Augustine Chen

Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 7868

Email

augustine.chen@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Cridge

Andrew Cridge

Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.01

Telephone

+64 3 479 4673

Email

andrew.cridge@otago.ac.nz

Rob Day

Rob Day

Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 7868

Email

rob.day@otago.ac.nz

TomHarrop

Tom Harrop

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Room 1.01

Telephone

+64 3 479 7861

Email

tom.harrop@otago.ac.nz

Torsten Kleffmann

Torsten Kleffmann

Senior Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.19b

Telephone

+64 3 479 7867

Email

torsten.kleffmann@otago.ac.nz

Tanya Flynn

Tanya Major

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Room 3.15

Telephone

+64 3 479 4167

Email

tanya.major@otago.ac.nz

Adam Middleton

Adam Middleton

Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.18

Telephone

+64 3 479 7870

Email

adam.middleton@otago.ac.nz

Charlotte Pushparayan

Charlotte Pushparajan

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Room 1.16

Telephone

+64 3 479 7861

Email

charlotte.pushparajan@otago.ac.nz

Lucia Schoderböck

Lucia Schweitzer

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Room 2.16

Telephone

+64 3 479 3570

Email

lucia.schweitzer@otago.ac.nz

Miriam Sharpe

Miriam Sharpe

Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.07a

Telephone

+64 3 479 5148

Email

miriam.sharpe@otago.ac.nz

DonghuiZou

Donghui Zou

Scientific Officer

Location

Room 3.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 7868

Email

donghui.zou@otago.ac.nz

Teaching-only staff

Annika Bokor

Dr Annika Bokor

Teaching Fellow

Location

Room 1.25

Telephone

+64 3 479 5130

Email

annika.bokor@otago.ac.nz

Nick Lawson

Nick Lawson

Professional Practice Fellow

Location

Room 1.32

+64 3 479 7846

Email

nick.lawson@otago.ac.nz

SharleenRae-Whitcombe

Sharleen Rae-Whitcombe

Professional Practice Fellow

Location

Room 1.26a

+64 3 479 7083

Email

sharleen.rae-whitcombe@otago.ac.nz

Kaye Wilson

Kaye Wilson

Professional Practice Fellow

Location

Room 1.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 7851

Email

kaye.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Tony Zaharic

Tony Zaharic

Senior Teaching Fellow

Location

Room 1.32

+64 3 479 5628

Email

tony.zaharic@otago.ac.nz

Gillian MacKay

Dr Gillian Mackay

Genetics Senior Teaching Fellow

Location

Microbiology Room 6.01

Telephone

+64 3 479 7937

Email

gillian.mackay@otago.ac.nz

General staff

Debbie Acreman

Debbie Acreman

Departmental Manager

Location

Room 2.30a

Telephone

+64 3 479 7259

Email

debbie.acreman@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Allan - Day Lab

Michelle Allan

Technical Assistant & Genetics Teaching Programme Administrator

Location

Microbiology Room 6.01 

Telephone

+64 3 479 7937

Email

michelle.allan@otago.ac.nz

TimBain

Tim Bain

Storeperson

Location

Room G.02c

Telephone

+64 3 479 7835

Email

tim.bain@otago.ac.nz

Bronwyn Carlisle

Bronwyn Carlisle

Scientific Officer

Location

Room 2.34

Telephone

+64 3 479 7704

Email

bronwyn.carlisle@otago.ac.nz

DianaCarne

Diana Carne

Technician

Location

Room 1.2

Telephone

+64 3 479 7542

Email

diana.carne@otago.ac.nz

DJ Champion

DJ Champion

IT Support Specialist

Location

Room 2.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 3980

Email

dj.champion@otago.ac.nz

Elaine Emmerson

Elaine Emmerson

Genetics Head Technician

Location

Room G.03

Telephone

+64 3 479 9042

Email

elaine.emmerson@otago.ac.nz

ChrisHart

Chris Hart

Compliance Officer

Location

Room 2.2

Telephone

+64 3 470 4686

Email

chris.hart@otago.ac.nz

DarrenHart

Darren Hart

ICT Manager

Location

Room 2.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 4965

Email

darren.hart@otago.ac.nz

Bruce Hosking

Bruce Hosking

IT Support Specialist

Location

Room 2.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 3980

Email

bruce.hosking@otago.ac.nz

Sandra Jeffery

Sandra Jeffery

Technician

Location

Room 1.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 7858

Email

sandra.jeffery@otago.ac.nz

Teena Joyce

Teena Rohtmets-Joyce

Executive Administrator

Location

Room 2.30a

Telephone

+64 3 479 5614

Email

teena.joyce@otago.ac.nz

Mike McArthur

Mike McArthur

Deputy Laboratory Manager

Location

Room 1.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 7858

Email

mike.mcarthur@otago.ac.nz

Edwin Meijerink

Edwin Meijerink

Research Advisor

Location

Room 1.13

Telephone

+64 3 479 4190

Email

edwin.meijerink@otago.ac.nz

Amirah Mohamad

Amirah Mohamad

Senior Laboratory Technician

Location

Room 1.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 7858

Email

amirah.mohamad@otago.ac.nz

NuritReichman

Nurit Reichman

Undergraduate Laboratory Manager

Location

Room 1.05b

Telephone

+64 3 479 7843

Email

nurit.reichman@otago.ac.nz

Lynn Slobbe

Lynn Slobbe

Purchasing and Finance Administrator

Location

Room 2.2

Telephone

+64 3 479 7862

Email

lynn.slobbe@otago.ac.nz

Peter Small

Peter Small

Building and Electronics Maintenance Manager

Location

Room G.10

Telephone

+64 3 479 7229

Email

peter.small@otago.ac.nz

Robyn Thomson

Robyn Thomson

Secretary

Location

Room 2.30

Telephone

+64 3 479 7863

Email

robyn.thomson@otago.ac.nz

David Turner

David Turner

Genetics Otago Administrative Manager

Location

Room 1.02a

Telephone

+64 3 479 7954

Email

david.turner@otago.ac.nz

Jana Watt

Jana Watt

Genetics Technician

Location

Room G.03

Telephone

+64 3 479 9042

Email

jana.watt@otago.ac.nz

Pam Wyber - Prep Room

Pam Wyber

Technical Assistant

Location

Room 1.05

Telephone

+64 3 479 7858

Email

pam.wyber@otago.ac.nz

Charity Upoko-Winchcombe

Charity Upoko-Winchcombe

Finance Assistant

Location

Room 2.20

Telephone

+64 3 479 5946

Email

charity.upoko-winchcombe@otago.ac.nz

Research laboratory staff

MattBixley

Matthew Bixley

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.15

Telephone

+64 3 479 4167

Email

matthew.bixley@otago.ac.nz

Abigail Burgess

Abigail Burgess

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.03

Telephone

+64 3 479 7860

Email

abigail.burgess@otago.ac.nz

Isiah Cheong

Isaiah Cheong

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.16

Telephone

+64 3 479 3570

Email

isaiah.cheong@otago.ac.nz

Jackie Daniels

Jackie Daniels

Technician

Location

Room 3.08

Telephone

+64 3 479 5153

Email

jackie.daniels@otago.ac.nz

Caitlin Dunstan-Harrison

Caitlin Dunstan-Harrison

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.03

Telephone

+64 3 479 7860

Email

caitlin.dunstan-harrison@otago.ac.nz

TinaEdgar

Tina Edgar

Senior Technician

Location

Room 1.11

Telephone

+64 3 479 7841

Email

tina.edgar@otago.ac.nz

Tanis Godwin

Tanis Godwin

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 7868

Email

tanis.godwin@otago.ac.nz

Jodi Hazlett

Jody Hazlett

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.26

Telephone

+64 3 479 7868

Email

jody.hazlett@otago.ac.nz

Sam Jamieson - Prep Room

Sam Jamieson

Senior Technician

Location

Room 2.03

Telephone

+64 3 479 7860

Email

sam.jamieson@otago.ac.nz

Abishek Kumar

Abhishek Kumar

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.2

Telephone

+64 3 479 7542

Email

abhishek.kumar@otago.ac.nz

Scott Lawrence

Scott Lawrence

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.14

Telephone

+64 3 479 7849

Email

scott.lawrence@otago.ac.nz

Robyn Lough

Robyn Lee

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.08

Telephone

+64 3 479 7872

Email

robyn.lee@otago.ac.nz

LoisMartin

Lois Martin

Senior Research Technician

Location

Room 2.24

Telephone

+64 3 479 7847

Email

lois.martin@otago.ac.nz

Marilyn Merriman

Marilyn Merriman

Senior Technician

Location

Room 3.15

Telephone

+64 3 479 5798

Email

marilyn.merriman@otago.ac.nz

Helen Kim Opel-Reading

Helen Opel-Reading

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.07

Telephone

+64 3 479 7859

Email

helen.opel-reading@otago.ac.nz

Tifany Oulavallickal

Dr Tifany Oulavalickal

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.14

Telephone

+64 3 479 7849

Email

tifany.oulavalickal@otago.ac.nz

KatieBourne

Katie Peppercorn

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.11

Telephone

+64 3 479 7841

Email

katie.peppercorn@otago.ac.nz

Mandy Phipps-Green

Mandy Phipps-Green

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.15

Telephone

+64 3 479 4167

Email

mandy.phipps-green@otago.ac.nz

Carolyn Porteous

Carolyn Porteous

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.02

Telephone

+64 3 479 5190

Email

carolyn.porteous@otago.ac.nz

Malcolm Rutledge

Malcolm Rutledge

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.03

Telephone

+64 3 479 7860

Email

malcolm.rutledge@otago.ac.nz

Ruth Topless - Merriman Lab

Ruth Topless

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.15

Telephone

+64 3 479 4167

Email

ruth.topless@otago.ac.nz

Shiny Varghese

Dr Shiny Varghese

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 3.08

Telephone

+64 3 479 7872

Email

shiny.varghese@otago.ac.nz

Holly Wicky

Hollie Wicky

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.16

Telephone

+64 3 479 3570

Email

hollie.wicky@otago.ac.nz

Susie Warring

Suzanne Warring

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 1.14

Telephone

+64 3 479 7849

Email

suzanne.warring@otago.ac.nz

Gene Zhu

Gene Zhu

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Room 2.18

Telephone

+64 3 479 7870

Email

jingyi.zhu@otago.ac.nz