Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Christchurch campus

The Centre for Bioengineering was established in 2009. It is the Christchurch Hub of the Centre for Bioengineering and Nanomedicine.

The MARS project was the first research project to come under the umbrella of the Centre for Bioengineering and Nanomedicine. The Centre now also hosts members of the CReaTE and Fractals Research Teams.

The Centre for Bioengineering and Nanomedicine is recognised by its research partners for the positive contribution it is making to bioengineering research.

Contact details

Prof Anthony Butler, Director

Phone: +64 3 378 6359
Mobile: +64 (0)21 0272 0806
Email: anthony.butler@otago.ac.nz

Assoc Prof Tim Woodfield, Senior Research Fellow, CreaTE

Phone: +64 3 378 6114
Email: tim.woodfield@otago.ac.nz

Assoc Prof Nigel Anderson, Senior Research Fellow, MARS

Phone: +64 3 378 6278
Email: nigel.anderson@otago.ac.nz 

Prof Geoff Shaw, Clinical Senior Lecturer, CDHB

Phone: +64 3 378 6278
Email: geoff.shaw@cdhb.health.nz

Peter Hilton, Research Facilitator, Bioengineering

Phone: +64 3 364 1987
Email: peter.hilton@otago.ac.nz

Sam Gurney, Radiology Administrator

Phone: +64 3 364 1987
Email: sam.gurney@otago.ac.nz 

Postal Address:

Centre for Bioengineering
Christchurch School of Medicine
PO BOX 4345
Christchurch 8140
New Zealand

Physical Address:

Centre for Bioengineering
Christchurch School of Medicine
2 Riccarton Avenue
Christchurch 8140
New Zealand