Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Core academic staff at the Bioethics Centre

Staff are available for consultation, particularly on matters relating to their research interests.

Associate Professor Lynley Anderson  Head of Department and Associate Professor

Ethics in sports medicine, reproductive ethics, clinical bioethics, professional development, codes of ethics.

Office drop-in time: Wednesday 9am–10am.

Tel 64 3 471 6132
Email lynley.anderson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Angela Ballantyne Senior Lecturer

Global health policy and justice, ethical frameworks in research, genetics and ethics.

Tel 64 4 918 5090
Email angela.ballantyne@otago.ac.nz

Sandy Elkin Professional Practice Fellow

Ethics in clinical practice for non-medical health professionals, the interface between law and ethics and the relevance of medical law for clinicians, ethics in pharmacy.

Tel 64 3 471 6128
Email sandy.elkin@otago.ac.nz

Professor Grant Gillett Professor

Bioethics, neuroethics, philosophy of psychiatry, post-structuralist philosophy.

Office drop-in time: Wednesday 4pm–5pm.

Tel 64 3 471 6127
Email grant.gillett@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike King Lecturer

Animal and environmental ethics, scientific responsibility, ethics of assisted reproductive technologies.

Office drop-in time: Fridays 9am–10am.

Tel 64 3 471 6130
Email mike.king@otago.ac.nz

Professor John McMillan Professor

Prioritisation, reproductive ethics, the philosophy and ethics of mental health, research ethics, methods of bioethics.

Tel 64 3 471 6135
Email john.mcmillan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jing-Bao Nie Professor

Cross-cultural and international bioethics, medical ethics in China / Asia.

Office drop-in time: Thursday 9am–10am.

Tel 64 3 471 6129
Email jing-bao.nie@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Neil Pickering Associate Professor

Philosophy and ethics of mental health, medical humanities (particularly the use of literature in ethics teaching), alternative medicine, cultural issues in bioethics, environmental ethics.

Tel 64 3 471 6126
Email neil.pickering@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jeanne Snelling Research Fellow

Medical law, human reproduction (particularly selective reproduction), genetics, and law.

Tel 64 3471 6123
Email jeanne.snelling@otago.ac.nz

Dr Simon Walker Lecturer

Moral philosophy, the nature of value, meaning, suffering, end of life care.
Office drop-in time: Wednesday 1.00-2.00pm.

Tel 64 3 471 6124
Email simon.walker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Janine Winters Senior Lecturer

End of life ethical issues for both adults and children, high stakes decision making for children.

Tel 64 3 4716131
Email janine.winters@otago.ac.nz