Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Pacific support

Studying as either an undergraduate or postgraduate student, pursuing a career in Biomedical Sciences can open up many opportunities. Whether you want to be a researcher, a scientist, or work in the health sector, there are many people who can support you along the way.

Undergraduate student support

Each of the five departments in the School of Biomedical Sciences has a staff member to support Pasifika students. These staff members meet regularly to discuss how best to ensure that your time spent in the school is both successful and enjoyable.

There is a growing number of Pasifika students enrolled in the Bachelor of Science (BSc) and Bachelor of Biomedical Science (BBiomedSc) degrees at the School. Our staff member can support you during your journey and link you to other Pasifika support staff at the University's Pacific Islands Centre and Pacific Islands Research and Student Support Unit (PIRSSU).

Pacific Islands Centre
Pacific Islands Research and Student Support Unit (PIRSSU)

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the staff listed below.

BMS Departmental Pasifika Support Staff:

Anatomy - Dr Latika Samalia (latika.samalia@otago.ac.nz)
Biochemistry - Professor Tony Merriman (tony.merriman@otago.ac.nz)
Microbiology & Immunology - Dr Jennifer Robson (jennifer.robson@otago.ac.nz)
Physiology - Dr Daryl Schwenke (daryl.schwenke@otago.ac.nz)
Pharmacology & Toxicology – Dr Zabeen Lateef (zabeen.lateef@otago.ac.nz)
Biomedical Sciences Programme – Jazmin Collins (jazmin.collins@otago.ac.nz)

Postgraduate student support

The staff members linked above are also available to support postgraduate students in their respective fields.

More specific support for our postgraduate students is provided collaboratively between the Pacific Islands Centre and the Pacific Islands Research and Student Support Unit (PIRSSU).

The Pacific Islands Centre (PIC) holds monthly postgraduate seminars where students have the opportunity to share their work as well as discuss their experience with each other.

For more information please contact the PIC:

Email pacific@otago.ac.nz
Web otago.ac.nz/pacific

Further to these seminars, the Pacific Islands Research and Student Support Unit can link you with postgraduate students within the School of Biomedical Sciences. PIRSSU also provides 'writing retreats' throughout the year.

For more information, please contact PIRSSU:

Email pirssu@otago.ac.nz
Web otago.ac.nz/pirssu