Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Undergraduate study

There are over 2,500 students studying at the School of Biomedical Sciences, with majors as diverse as Anatomy and Plant Biotechnology.

All of our undergraduate programmes consist of three-year bachelors' degrees. Depending on your major, you might graduate with a Bachelor of Biomedical Science (BBiomedSc), a Bachelor of Science (BSc), or a Bachelor of Applied Science (BAppSc).

Click through to learn more about the subjects that most interest you.

Health Sciences First Year

Health Sciences First Year (HSFY) is not a prerequisite for the above programmes, but successful completion of HSFY will qualify you for direct entry into the second year of most of these courses. Every year, hundreds of students transfer to the School of Biomedical Sciences following completion of HSFY.

HSFY is also the most common means of entry to the University of Otago's health professional programmes (Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy, and Physiotherapy), which are taught by other schools at Otago.

HSFY can be a good option if you're not yet sure where your interests lie, as it satisfies the first year requirements for so many different courses of study at Otago.

HSFY is jointly taught by the School of Biomedical Sciences and the Division of Sciences.


The University of Otago scholarships database has information on all scholarships available for undergraduate students.

There are also four scholarships specifically available for students at the School of Biomedical Sciences: