Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People

Email Address botany@otago.ac.nz
Enquiries Tel: +64 3 479 7577

Administration

Dr David A. Orlovich
Head of Department
Tel: +64 3 479 9060
hod.botany@otago.ac.nz
Kath McGilbert
Department Administrator
Tel: +64 3 479 9146
botany.administrator@otago.ac.nz
Michelle McKinlay
Office Administrator
Tel: +64 3 479 7577
botany@otago.ac.nz

Academic

Associate Professor David J. Burritt
Functional Biology & Biotechnology, Plants & Seaweeds
Tel: +64 3 479 9057
david.burritt@botany.otago.ac.nz
Professor Katharine J. M. Dickinson
Terrestrial Ecology, Vascular Plants
Tel: +64 3 479 9059
kath.dickinson@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Paul L. Guy
Virology, Plants & Viruses
Tel: +64 3 479 7574
paul.guy@botany.otago.ac.nz
Dr Linn Hoffmann
Marine Eco-Physiology, Phytoplankton
Tel: +64 3 470 3542
linn.hoffmann@otago.ac.nz
Dr Janice M. Lord
Systematics & Ecology, Vascular Plants
Tel: +64 3 479 5131
janice.lord@botany.otago.ac.nz
Dr David A. Orlovich
Evolutionary biology, Fungi
Tel: +64 3 479 9060
david.orlovich@otago.ac.nz
Dr Tina Summerfield
Molecular Physiology, Cyanobacteria
Tel: +64 3 479 7578
tina.summerfield@botany.otago.ac.nz

Honorary & Emeritus Academic Staff, Postdocs & Research Associates

Prof. Sir Alan Mark
Emeritus Professor Conservation ecology
Tel: +64 3 479 7573
alan.mark@otago.ac.nz
Assoc. Prof. Ilse Breitwieser
Honorary Associate Professor
Systematics
Tel: +64 3 321 9621
Prof. Barbara Barratt
Honorary Professor
Biosecurity
Tel: +64 3 489 9061
barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz
Prof. William G. Lee
Honorary Professor
Biogeography
Tel: +64 3 470 7207
Jennifer Bannister
Research Associate
Paleobotany
Tel: +64 3 479 7577
Dr Allison Knight
Research Associate
Lichenology
Tel: +64 3 479 7577
Dr Matthew Larcombe Postdoctoral fellow
Tel: +64 3 479 3943
matthew.larcombe@otago.ac.nz

Ecology Degree Programme


Dr Katja Schweikert
Professional Practice Fellow
Tel: +64 3 471 6146
katja.schweikert@otago.ac.nz
Dr Cathy Rufaut
Lecturer
Tel: +64 3 471 6146
cathy.rufaut@otago.ac.nz

Technical Staff

Vickey R. Tomlinson
Senior Technical Officer
Tel: +64 3 479 9064
vickey.tomlinson@botany.otago.ac.nz
Rebecca Macdonald
Laboratory Technician
Tel: +64 3 479 7579
rebecca.macdonald@otago.ac.nz
Susan F. Mackenzie
Technical Assistant
Tel: +64 3 479 7579
susan.mackenzie@botany.otago.ac.nz
Hadley O'Sullivan
IT Technician
Tel: +64 3 479 7571
hadley.osullivan@otago.ac.nz
Mr John Steel
Herbarium Technician
Taxonomy, Terrestrial plants
john.steel@botany.otago.ac.nz

Postgraduate Students

Supervisor
Rohan Allen PhD, Botany
Linn Hoffmann
Sophia Bräuning PhD, Botany Janice Lord
Nusyana Cham Pi PhD, Botany
David Burritt
Esther Dale PhD, Ecology and Evolution
Steven Higgins
Luke Easton PhD, Vertebrate-plant interactions
Kath Dickinson
Ian Geary, PhD, Geology/Botany Janice Lord
Natalie Howes PhD, Botany
David Burritt
Jay Iwasaki PhD, Plant-Insect interactions
Kath Dickinson
Paulo Lagos Jimeñez PhD, Marine Science
David Burritt
Tingling (Lily) Lui PhD, Food Science
David Burritt
Jaz Morris PhD, Cyanobacteria
Tina Summerfield
Raj Nandakumar, PhD, Botany David Burritt
Andy Nilsen, PhD, Botany David Orlovich
Francie Rudminat, PhD, Botany Linn Hoffmann, Tina Summerfield
Patricio Saldivia Perez, PhD, Botany Janice Lord
Kevin Sheridan PhD, Cyanobacteria
Tina Summerfield
Romana Salis PhD, Plant Biotechnology Tina Summerfield
Mi Tang PhD, Botany David Burritt
Stefanie Barak MSc, Ecology Janice Lord
Amy Clarke MSc Janice Lord
Jasmine Divinagracia MSc, Botany Paul Guy
Bryce Kahlert MSc, Botany David Orlovich
Chelsea Kerr MSc, Botany David Burritt
Jacob Manning MSc Tina Summerfield
Trent Rasmussen MSc Haseeb Handhawa
Sam West MSc, Ecology Kath Dickinson

Past Students

Profiles of our prior postgraduate students are available on our Graduates page.

Laboratories/Research Rooms

Research Students, Room II (write up room) Tel: +64 3 471 6219
Pavilion Workroom Tel: +64 3 479 9024
Bannister Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4010
Baylis Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4573
Holloway Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4008
Interim Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4009
Shore Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 9063