New Zealand Chaplains' Directory

Auckland

Auckland University of Technology (AUT)

Private Bag 92 006, Auckland 1142

Spirituality Co-ordinator
Amanda Lees Health, Counselling and Wellbeing

Centre City campus
Tel 64 9 921 9992

North Shore campus 
Tel 64 9 921 9760

Buddhist Chaplain

Sensei Amala Wrightson

Tel 64 9 520 0531
Mob 027 314 9940

Catholic Chaplain

(See Newman hall details under University of Auckland)

Sr Leona Gurchow
Tel 64 9 303 3852
Mob 021 209 5811

Baptist Chaplain

Dale Campbell
Tel 94 9 480 7064
Mob 021 407 205

Islamic Chaplain

Sheikh Rafat Najm
Mob 021 134 0501 (no text messages)

Pasifika Chaplains

Dr Winston Halapua (Anglican, Tongan)
Dr Sevati Tuwere (Methodist, Fijian)
Tel 64 9 521 2725 for either minister

Manukau Institute of Technology

Private Bag 94006, Manukau City 1730
Tel 64 9 968 8000 ext. 8882
Email thechaplains@manukau.ac.nz

Co-ordinating Chaplain
Ricky Waters (See Massey Albany)
Email ricky.waters@manukau.ac.nz

Timetable

Monday: Heather B
Email brockett@xtra.co.nz

Tuesday: Amy Wen
Email wenap@xtra.co.nz

Wednesday: John Gower
Email jigower@maxnet.co.nz

Thursday: Ricky Waters
Email ricky.waters@manukau.ac.nz

Colin Zhao
Email colin0507@gmail.com

Friday: James Shen
Email nwei@slingshot.co.nz

Newmarket Campus (Language School)

Suong Hong Eyou
Mob 021 154 3032

Massey University Albany Campus

Chaplaincy Services (SC 1.22)
Massey University
Private Bag 102 904
North Shore Mail Centre
Auckland 0630

Tel 64 9 414 0800 ext. 9224
Email albchaplains@massey.ac.nz

Ricky Waters
Coordinating Chaplain
8 Tuakana Street
Point England
Auckland 1072

Tel 64 9 527 4538
Mob 027 266 4569

Chaplaincy Team timetable

Monday: Tu-Yi Chiang
Email alicegao_nz@hotmail.com

Tuesday: Ricky Waters
Tel 64 9 527 4538
Mob 027 266 4569

Yang Yang Wu
Email miss.yangyang@hotmail.com

Wednesday: Ricky Waters
Tel 64 9 527 4538
Mob 027 266 4569

Thursday: Kyu Kim
Email kdkim4@yahoo.co.nz

Jill Shaw
Mobile 021 171 3178
Email onajourney@xtra.co.nz

Friday: Justin Cherry
Email cherryjustin@gmail.com

Unitec New Zealand

Chaplaincy Services (Bldg 48)
Unitec New Zealand
Private Bag 92025
Auckland

Tel 64 9 815 4321 ext 8225
Email chaplains@unitec.ac.nz

Co-ordinating Chaplain Ricky Waters
8 Tuakana Street
Point England
Auckland 1072

Tel 64 9 527 4538
Mob 027 266 4569

Waireka Campus

Carrington Road
Mt. Albert

Tel 64 9 815 4321 ext 8225
Email chaplains@unitec.ac.nz

Timetable

Monday and Friday: Ricky Waters

Tuesday: Chze Pheng Ching
Tel 64 9 625 7757
Email chingcpy@yahoo.co.nz

Thursday: Talasoga Su’a

North Shore Campus

Hurstmere Road
Takapuna

Email nschaps@unitec.ac.nz

Timetable

Monday & Wednesday: Owen Rogers

Waitakere Campus

Ratanui St
Henderson
Tel 64 9 815 4321 ext 5202
Email waitakchaps@unitec.ac.nz

Monday & Wednesday: Wilkinson Hu
Email hooweikwan@hotmail.com

Friday: Cindy Brickell
Email rebeccajaneduncan@gmail.com

University of Auckland

Maclaurin Chaplain
Maclaurin Chapel
18 Princes Street

City Campus

Auckland Rev. Uesifili Unasa
Tel 64 9 373 7599 ext. 87732
Email u.unasa@auckland.ac.nz

Newman Hall (Catholic)

16 Waterloo Quadrant
Auckland 1001

Tel 64 9 303 3852
Fax 64 9 303 3851
Email haplaincy@newmanhall.org.nz
Website http://www.newmanhall.org.nz

Rev. Fr Thige O'Leary SM
Tel (home) 64 9 360 0923
Mob 021 705 314
Email fr.thige@xtra.co.nz

Sr Leona Garchow RSM
Mob 021 209 5811
Email leona@actrix.co.nz

Denis Brown Tutaka
Mob 021 0268 8223
Email dtut006@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Central City International Students

Suong Eyou
Mob 021 154 3032
Email sh_eyou@yahoo.com

Canterbury

Christchurch Polytech Institute of Technology (CPIT)

See under Canterbury University

Lincoln University

The Chaplains Office
Lincoln University
PO Box 84
Lincoln
Canterbury

Tel 64 3 325 3838 ext. 8935

Michael Cooke
Email mikooke@hotmail.com

Rev Glenda Hicks
Tel (work) 64 3 325 3838 ext. 8935
Tel (home) 64 3 359 4546
Mob 027 711 4166
Email glenda.hicks@lincoln.ac.nz

Catholic

See under Canterbury University

University of Canterbury

Rev Tom Innes, Senior Ecumenical Chaplain
120 Ilam Road
Christchurch

Tel 64 3 351 6456
Email tom.innes@canterbury.ac.nz

Rev Paul Stanaway
Mob 027 651 9941
Email paul@stbarnabas.org.nz

Rev Paul Stanaway, College House Chaplain

Catholic

Kolbe House
5 Rountree St
Ilam
Christchurch

Tel 64 3 348 8882
Email kolbehouse@extra.co.nz

Fr John Adams (Chaplain)
Eddie Caudel
Ken Joblin (Coordinator)
Katie Malone

Hawkes Bay

Eastern Institute of Technology (EIT) and Ruawharo (Massey)

All Chaplains

EIT Chaplaincy EIT Hawkes Bay
Private Bag 1201
Taradale

Tel 64 6 974 8000 Ext 4637
Email chaplain@eit.ac.nz

Chris Malcolm, Coordinating Chaplain
Mob 021 129 5492

Steve Demetrius
Mob 027 698 4048

Jenny Ironside
Tel 64 6 974 8000 Ext 4637
Email chaplain@eit.ac.nz

Lorraine Irwin (Multi-faith)
Mob 021 254 5703

Steve Trolive
Mob 021 041 6030

Manawatu

Massey University

Chaplaincy Centre
Massey University
Private Bag 11 222
Palmerston North

Tel 64 6 350 5597
Email chaplain@massey.ac.nz

Colin Day
Tel (home)64 6 357 2575
Mob 027 774 34 53
Email daze.46@extra.co.nz

Mark Downey
Treasurer
Email m.c.downey@massey.ac.nz

Mark Grace
Tel (home) 64 6 328 7977
Mob 027 290 3600
Email markg@tscf.org.nz

Sesimani Havea (Pacific)
Email s.havea@massey.ac.nz

Terry McGrath (International)
Tel (home) 64 6 356 7981
Email terry@ism.org.nz

Victoria Sibley (Administrator)
Tel 64 6 350 5597
Mob 021 0259 6518
Email v.e.sibley@massey.ac.nz

Dianne Stock (Teachers College)
Tel (work) 64 6 356 9099 ext. 8832
Tel (home)64 6 355 3879
Email diannestock@clear.net.nz

Paul Stock
Tel (work) 64 6 356 9099 ext. 2933
Tel (home) 64 6 355 3879
Email chaplain@massey.ac.nz

Catholic

Kate Bell
Tel 64 6 350 3824
Mob 027 654 4004
Email k.bell@pndiocese.org.nz

Sean Ryan
Mob (work) 021 976 483
Mob (home) 027 449 6506
Email sryan@pndioces.org.nz

Universal College of Learning (UCOL)

Colin Day (see Massey University)

Otago

Otago Polytechnic

Mike Wright
Private Bag 1910
Dunedin, 9054

Tel 64 3 479 6094
Mob 021 735 286
Email chaplain@op.ac.nz

Catholic

Paul Armstrong
Email Paul.Armstrong@op.ac.nz
Tel 64 3 479 4921

Registry Building
University College of Education
PO Box 1436
Dunedin

University of Otago

Rev Greg Hughson Chaplains Office
University Union
PO Box 1436
Dunedin

Tel 64 3 479 8497
Tel (home) 64 3 487 6226
Mob 027 212 1048
Email greg.hughson@otago.ac.nz
Website http://www.otago.ac.nz/chaplain

Lyn Meinders
Tel 64 3 473 9670
Mob 027 549 8478
Email   lyn.meinders@otago.ac.nz

Rosie Victor-Hoogland
Mob 021 034 1130
Email victorhoogland.rosie@gmail.com

Mike Wright
Tel 64 3 479 6094
Mob 021 735 286
Email chaplain@op.ac.nz

Catholic

Amy Armstrong
Tel 64 3 479 5348
Mob 027 237 6319
Email amy.armstrong@otago.ac.nz

Fr Mark Chamberlain
PO Box 1436
Dunedin

Tel 64 3 479 0066
Mob 027 220 7685
Email machamberlain@hotmail.com

Southland

Southern Institute of Technology

Lisa Stuart
Southland Tertiary Chaplaincy
133 Tay Street
Private Bag 90114
Invercargill 9840

Tel 64 3 211 2699 ext. 8721
Website http://www.sit.ac.nz
Email chaplain@sit.ac.nz

University of Otago, College of Education - Invercargill

Lisa Stuart (see above)

Southland Community College

Lisa Stuart (see above)

Taranaki

Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki (WITT)

Cathy Gordon
Private Bag 2030
New Plymouth

Tel 64 6 757 3100 ext. 8765
Mob 027 358 1378
Email c.gordon@witt.ac.nz

Waikato

Waikato University

Catholic Chaplain

Fr. Andrew  Paris  
University of Waikato
Private Bag 3105
Hamilton

Tel 64 7 856 2889 ext. 8575
Tel (after-hours) 64 7 856 2734

Ecumenical

Rev   Sue  Burns
Lady Goodfellow Chapel
Private Bag 3105
Hamilton

Tel 64 7 838 4466 ext. 8576
Mob 027 224 5520

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) - Hamilton City Campus

Health & Counselling Centre
A Block
Private Bag 3036
Waikato Mail Centre
Hamilton 3240

Tel 64 7 834 8800 ext. 7670

Ecumenical

Andrew McKean
Mob 027 610 9669

Māori Chaplain

Rev’d Herenga (Jack) Wirihana
Mob 027 733 9056
Email Herenga.Wirihana@wintec.ac.nz

Wellington

Catholic Tertiary Chaplains

All Wellington campuses

Kohanga
Catholic Tertiary Centre
4 Kelburn Parade

Tel 64 4 472 3325

Clare O’Connor
Mob 021 146 2137
Tel (home) 64 4 478 8575
Email clare@cenacle.org.nz

Travina Oh
Mob 021 149 7256
Email Travina.Oh@vuw.ac.nz

Massey Wellington

Chaplain’s Office
Level 2
Student Centre
Private Box 756
Wellington

Tel 64 4 801 5799 ext. 62075
Website http://student-services.massey.ac.nz

Tim Duxfield
Tel 64 4 801 5799 x 62075
Mob 021 2052 328
Email t.duxfield@massey.ac.nz

Rey Enriquez
Tel 64 4 801 5799 x 62075
Mob 027 316 6148
Email r.enriquez@massey.ac.nz

Koleta Konise
Tel 64 4 801 5799 x 62075
Mob 027 3644 548
Email m.k.t.konise@massey.ac.nz

Anglician

Victoria University Ramsey House
8 Kelburn Parade
Wellington

Tel/Fax 64 4 463 5499

Joel Carpenter Hospitality and Events
Tel 64 4 463 6743
Mob 021 288 1598
Email joel.carpenter@vuw.ac.nz

 

© Otago Tertiary Chaplains
Upper Room
University Union Building
Box 1436
University of Otago
Dunedin

Upstairs in the Student Centre Otago Polytechnic Harbour Terrace Dunedin

Email chaplains@otago.ac.nz