Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Chemistry Our people

Head of Department

lyall_hanton

Professor Lyall Hanton

Head of Department

Location

Science II, Gc7

Numbers

+64 3 479 7918

Email

lhanton@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Academic Staff

sally_brooker3

Professor Sally Brooker

Professor

Location

Science II, 2c4

Phone

+64 3 479 7919

Email

sbrooker@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

james_crowley

Associate Prof James Crowley

Associate Professor

Location

Science II, 2n10

Phone

+64 3 479 7731

Email

james.crowley@otago.ac.nz

russell_frew

Professor Russell Frew

Professor

Location

Science II, 3n12

Phone

+64 3 479 7913

Email

russell.frew@otago.ac.nz

anna_garden

Dr Anna Garden

Lecturer

Location

Science II, 5c3

Phone

+64 3 479 7928

Email

anna.garden@otago.ac.nz

keith_gordon

Professor Keith Gordon

Professor

Location

Science II, 5c1

Phone

+64 3 479 7599

Email

keith.gordon@otago.ac.nz

kimberley_hageman

Associate Prof Kimberly Hageman

Associate Professor

Location

Science II, 5c4

Phone

+64 3 479 5214

Email

kimberley.hageman@otago.ac.nz

bill_hawkins

Dr Bill Hawkins

Senior Lecturer

Location

Science II, 2n8

Phone

+64 3 471 6217

Email

bill.hawkins@otago.ac.nz

alan_hayman

Dr Alan Hayman

Senior Lecturer

Location

Science II, 4n9

Phone

+64 3 479 7923

Email

alan.hayman@otago.ac.nz

keith_hunter

Professor Keith Hunter

Professor

Location

Science II, 5n4

Phone

+64 3 479 7917

Email

keith.hunter@otago.ac.nz

david_larsen

Professor David Larsen

Professor

Location

Science II, 2n11

Phone

+64 3 479 7816

Email

david.larsen@otago.ac.nz

nigel_lucas

Dr Nigel Lucas

Senior Lecturer

Location

Science II, 3n11

Phone

+64 3 479 5377

Email

nigel.lucas@otago.ac.nz

christina_mcgraw

Dr Christina McGraw

Senior Lecturer

Location

Science II, 3n13

Phone

+64 3 479 7907

Email

christina.mcgraw@otago.ac.nz

david_mcmorran

Dr David McMorran

Senior Teaching Fellow

Location

Science II, Gc2

Phone

+64 3 479 7934

Email

davidm@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

carla_meledandri

Dr Carla Meledandri

Senior Lecturer

Location

Science II, 5c2

Phone

+64 3 479 5378

Email

carla.meledandri@otago.ac.nz

stephen_moratti

Associate Prof Stephen Moratti

Research Associate Professor

Location

Science II, 3n10

Phone

+64 3 479 7829

Email

stephen.moratti@otago.ac.nz

nigel_perry

Professor Nigel B. Perry

Professor

Location

Science II, 4s6

Phone

+64 3 479 8354

Email

nigel.perry@plantandfood.co.nz

claudine_stirling

Associate Prof Claudine Stirling

Research Associate Professor/Director of Trace Element Centre

Location

Science II, 1s6

Phone

+64 3 479 7932

Email

claudine.stirling@otago.ac.nz

eng_tan

Dr Eng Wui Tan

Senior Lecturer

Location

Science II, 2n9

Phone

+64 3 479 7926

Email

ewtan@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

david_warren

Dr Dave Warren

Professional Practice Fellow

Location

Science II, Gc3

Numbers

+64 3 479 4102

Email

dwarren@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Research Staff

jaydee_cabral

Dr Jaydee Cabral

Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 3n9

Phone

+64 3 479 4897

Email

jaydee.cabral@otago.ac.nz

placeholder-female

Dr Gemma Cotton

Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 5c2

Phone

+64 3 479 4649

Email

gemma.cotton@otago.ac.nz

casey_davies

Dr Casey Davies

Teaching Fellow - HAZA401/HAZA404

Location

Numbers

+64 3 479 7912

Email

casey.davies@otago.ac.nz

humphrey_feltham

Dr Humphrey Feltham

Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 2c2

Phone

+64 3 479 7901

Email

hfeltham@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

shailesh_goswami

Dr Shailesh Goswami

Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 3n9

Phone

+64 3 479 4897

Email

shailesh.goswami@otago.ac.nz

brian_kueh

Dr Brian Kueh

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Science II, 4c2

Phone

+64 3 479 7992

Email

brian.kueh@otago.ac.nz

john_mcadam

Dr John McAdam

Senior Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 3n9

Phone

+64 3 479 4897

Email

mcadamj@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

placeholder-male

Sean Mackay

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Science II, 4c2

Phone

+64 3 479 7992

Email

sean.mackay@otago.ac.nz

placeholder-female

Dr Sara Miller

Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 5n9

Phone

+64 3 479 4168

Email

sara.miller@otago.ac.nz

placeholder-male

Dr Eoin Murray

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Science II, 4c2

Phone

+64 3 479 7992

Email

eoin murray@otago.ac.nz

malcolm_reid

Dr Malcolm Reid

Scientific Officer

Location

Science II, 1n8b

Phone

+64 3 479 5376

Email

mreid@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

marina_roxburgh

Marina Roxburgh

Assistant Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 3n9

Phone

+64 3 479 4897

Email

marina.roxburgh@otago.ac.nz

amandine_sabadel

Dr Amandine Sabadel

Postdoctoral Fellow

Location

Science II, 3c4

Phone

+64 3 479 5092

Email

amandine.sabadel@otago.ac.nz

robert_vanhale

Dr Robert Van Hale

Senior Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 3s6

Phone

+64 3 479 7915

Email

robertv@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Administration Staff

cathy_bennett

Cathy Bennett

Head Technician

Location

Science II, Gc5

Phone

+64 3 479 7576

Email

cathy.bennett@otago.ac.nz

kristine_faed

Kristine Faed

Administrative Assistant

Location

Science II, Gc1

Phone

+64 3 479 7908

Email

kristine.faed@otago.ac.nz

pip_jack

Phillipa Jack

Departmental Secretary

Location

Science II, Gc1

Phone

+64 3 479 7912

Email

pjack@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

theresa_mendoza

Theresa Mendoza

Departmental Administrator

Location

Science II, Gc1a

Phone

+64 3 479 7911

Email

theresa.mendoza@otago.ac.nz

ben_miller

Dr Ben Miller

Health and Safety Compliance Officer

Location

Science II, 2n12

Phone

+64 3 479 7672

Email

ben.miller@otago.ac.nz

Technical Staff

nigel_alefosio

Nigel Alefosio

Store Technician/Purchasing

Location

Science II, Gs5

Phone

+64 3 479 7894

Email

nigel.alefosio@otago.ac.nz

mathew_anderson

Mathew Anderson

Systems Administrator

Location

Science II, Gc6

Phone

+64 3 479 5756

Email

mathew.anderson@otago.ac.nz

pauline_bandeen

Pauline Bandeen

Senior Technician,  Microlab

Location

Science II, 5n13

Phone

+64 3 479 7886

Email

microlab@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

david_barr

David Barr

Instrument Support Technician

Location

Science II, 1n8

Phone

+64 3 470 3588

Email

dbarr@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

ian_billinghurst

Ian Billinghurst

Teaching Lab Technician

Location

Mellor Laboratories, G07c

Phone

+64 3 479 7881

Email

ian.billinghurst@otago.ac.nz

sean_bray

Sean Bray

Store Technician/Purchasing

Location

Science II, Gs5

Phone

+64 3 479 7894

Email

sean.bray@otago.ac.nz

daryl_braid

Daryl Braid

Workshop

Location

Science II, Gs3

Phone

+64 3 479 7895

Email

daryl.braid@otago.ac.nz

lisa_bucke

Lisa Bucke

Technician, Microlab

Location

Science II, 5c13

Phone

+64 3 479 7886

Email

microlab@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

placeholder-female

Kaitlin Chin

Teaching LabTechnician

Location

Mellor Laboratories, G07a

Phone

+64 3 479 7881

Email

kaitlin.jones@otago.ac.nz

dianne_clark

Dianne Clark

Instrument Support Technician

Location

Science II, 3c4

Phone

+64 3 479 5092

Email

dclark@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

judith_murdoch

Judith Murdoch

Research Technician

Location

Portalab

Phone

+64 3 479 5742

Email

judith.murdoch@otago.ac.nz

rachael_nicoll

Rachael Nicoll

Teaching Lab Technician

Location

Mellor Laboratories, 2.11

Phone

+64 3 479 7887

Email

rnicoll@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

jenny_pentelow

Jenny Pentelow

Instrument Technician

Location

Science II, Gn8a

Phone

+64 3 479 7904

Email

jenny.pentelow@otago.ac.nz

paul_reynolds

Paul Reynolds

Electrical Services

Location

Science II, Gs2

Phone

+64 3 479 7818

Email

reynolds@otago.ac.nz

karen_rowley

Karen Rowley

Lab Technician - Team Leader

Location

Mellor Laboratories, 2.11

Phone

+64 3 479 7887

Email

karen.rowley@otago.ac.nz

holly_shanks

Holly Shanks

Teaching Lab Technician

Location

Mellor Laboratories, 2.11

Phone

+64 3 479 7887

Email

holly.shanks@otago.ac.nz

ian_stewart

Ian Stewart

Senior Instrument Technician

Location

Science II, Gn8a

Phone

+64 3 479 7904

Email

ians@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

garth_tyrrell

Garth Tyrrell

Workshop

Location

Science II, Gs3

Phone

+64 3 479 7895

Email

gtyrrell@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

john_wells

John Wells

Glassblower

Location

Science II, 4n8

Phone

+64 3 479 7933

Email

jwells@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

NIWA/University of Otago Research Centre for Oceanography

evelyn_armstrong

Dr Evelyn Armstrong

Research Fellow

Location

Science II, 1n8d

Phone

+64 3 479 5249

Email

earmstrong@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

kim_currie

Dr Kim I. Currie

Marine Chemist

Location

Science II, 1n8d

Phone

+64 3 479 5249

Email

kimc@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

placeholder-male

Professor Cliff Law

Professor

Location

Science II, 1n8d

Phone

+64 3 479 5249

Email

cliff.law@niwa.co.nz

Plant and Food Research - Plant Extracts Research Unit (PERU)

elaine_burgess

Elaine J. Burgess

Natural Products Chemistry

Location

Science II, 4s7a

Phone

+64 3 479 5257

Email

elaine.burgess@plantandfood.co.nz

john_vanklink

Dr John W. van Klink

Natural Products Chemistry

Location

Science II, 4s7b

Numbers

+64 3 479 8966

Email

john.vanklink@plantandfood.co.nz

nigel_perry

Professor Nigel B. Perry

Natural Products Chemistry - Research Leader

Location

Science II, 4s6

Numbers

+64 3 479 8354

Email

nigel.perry@plantandfood.co.nz

catherine_sansom

Catherine Sansom

Natural Products Chemistry

Location

Science II, 4s7a

Numbers

+64 3 479 8357

Email

catherine.sansom@plantandfood.co.nz