Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People in the Department of the Dean

Dean's Office

The Dean has overall responsibility for all academic and administrative activities in the University of Otago, Christchurch and is accountable in all management matters to the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Health Sciences).

The Dean's responsibilities include:

  • oversight of the administration of all undergraduate and postgraduate programmes
  • co-ordination of strategic planning for the UOC
  • liaison within the University and with other health and education sector agencies
  • oversight of the day-to-day functioning of the Dean's Department.

The Dean is assisted by staff of the Department of the Dean, and senior academic staff who hold part-time appointments in specific areas.

The Dean

Personal Assistant to the Dean

Deputy Dean

Associate Deans

Academic Programmes


Administrative Secretary/Undergraduate Administrator

Administrator - Academic Programmes

Medical Education Unit

Biostatistics and Computational Biology

Māori/Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI)



Business and Operations Manager

  • Fionn Moore

Finance Officer

  • Shereen Naicker

Human Resources

Generalist HR advice and support for all employment-related matters in the University of Otago, Christchurch

Senior HR Advisor

  • Maggie McEvoy


Reception Manager

  • Louise Robertson


  • Josephine Wesley

Research Office

All matters relating to administering research grants and contracts including applications, closing dates, summer studentships etc.

Research and Development Manager

Māori Research Advisor

Research Advisors

Research Administrators

Support Services


  • Anne Vernall

Purchasing Officer

  • Aude Thierry


  • Paul Muir

Research Facilities (CARA)


  • Scott Loeffler 

Senior Technician

  • Arron Dyer


  • Erin Lally
  • Ruth Owers
  • Sarah Rogers



Glassware Technician

  • Kathryn Orlita

Technology Services


Computer Support Staff

Media Support Officer

Communications and Publicity

Senior Communications Advisor

  • Kim Thomas

Property Services

Facilities Manager

  • Murray Clarke