Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Board of Undergraduate Studies (BUGS)

Clocktower at sunset

Terms of Reference

  • To advise the Senate on policy relating to admission and re-admission of students to undergraduate courses and policy governing progress of students in undergraduate courses and the conferring of undergraduate awards.
  • To monitor all changes to first degree regulations.
  • To advise the Senate on any new undergraduate proposals.
  • To consider and report on any matter concerning undergraduate studies referred to it by the Senate or the Vice-Chancellor.
  • To advise Senate on any academic pre-university or university preparation qualifications offered by Foundation Studies Ltd.


Composition of the Board Member Expiry date (if applicable)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) (Convener) Professor Vernon Squire Ex-officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Commerce Associate Professor Kate Wynn Williams Ex-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Health Sciences

Associate Professor Pat Cragg (also CUAP rep)

Ex-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Humanities Associate Professor Tim Cooper Ex-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Sciences Associate Professor Janice Murray Ex-officio (appointed by the PVC)
Director International Mr Jason Cushen Ex-officio
Two members appointed by Senate Associate Professor Natalie Medlicott December 2019
Associate Professor David Larsen December 2019
Head of Department, Higher Education Development Centre Professor Tony Harland Ex-officio
Director, Distance Learning Dr Sarah Stein Ex-officio
Director, Quality Advancement Unit Ms Margaret Morgan Ex-officio
University representative on the  Committee on University Academic Programmes (CUAP) Associate Professor Pat Cragg Ex-officio
Student member nominated by the Executive of OUSA Mr Bryn Jenkins December 2017
In attendance
Committee Secretary Jane Hinkley, Academic Committees Office, ext 6531

The Board has the power to co-opt as required.

Meeting dates for 2017

BUGS Meeting Dates (Wednesdays at 2pm) Deadline for submission
2pm, Wednesday 4 October 5pm, Monday 25 September
2pm, Wednesday 1 November 5pm, Tuesday 25 October (due to Labour Day)

Meeting dates for 2018

BUGS Meeting dates (Wednesdays at 2pm)Deadline for submission
7 February29 January
7 March26 February
11 April26 March (prior to Easter)
2 May23 April
6 June28 May
4 July25 June
1 August23 July
5 September27 August
3 October24 September
7 November29 October

  • April Meetings of BUGS/BOGS Round One CUAP Deadline for new qualification/major subject/endorsement/major amendments (for following academic year)
  • April Meetings of BUGS/BOGS deadline for inclusion in Guide to Enrolment for following academic year
  • June Meetings of BUGS/BoGS deadline for new papers and amendments for the following academic year
  • August Meeting of BUGS/BOGS Round two CUAP Deadline for new qualification/major subject/endorsement/major amendments (normally it is not possible to introduce a new programme/major amendments in Round 2 for the following academic year)

Minutes for 2017

Minutes for 2016

Forms and Resources

Download Proformas for New Proposals and access Resources.