Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Postgraduate research opportunities at the Department of Medicine

Overview

The Department of Medicine is one of the Dunedin School of Medicine's largest academic departments. We have numerous and varied postgraduate research opportunities available throughout the Department.

Applicants for postgraduate study in the Department of Medicine do not need to be medical graduates; we encourage both medical and non-medical graduates to undertake PhD or master's study. The department has both medical and non-medical academic staff, who may supervise projects carried out by graduates from fields other than medicine. Various projects are often available for consideration.

^ Top of Page

Research projects

Some projects are available in the following broad categories:

  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
  • Physical, brain and social changes in ageing
  • Inflammation research in arthritis and cancer
  • Kidney diseases / nephrology
  • Quality of life in dialysis patients
  • Multiple medication-related projects

^ Top of Page

Research areas and supervisor specialties

Cardiology:

Associate Professor Gerry Wilkins
Email: gerard.wilkins@otago.ac.nz
Professor Michael Williams
Email: michael.williams@otago.ac.nz
Dr Sean Coffey
Email: sean.coffey@otago.ac.nz

Childhood obesity:

Associate Professor Rachael Taylor
Email: rachael.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Clinical Exercise Physiology:

Dr Chris Baldi
Email: chris.baldi@otago.ac.nz

Edgar Diabetes and Obesity Research (EDOR):

Professor Jim Mann
Email jim.mann@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kirsten Coppell
Email: kirsten.coppell@otago.ac.nz

Endocrinology:

Associate Professor Patrick Manning
Email: patrick.manning@southerndhb.govt.nz

Gerontology:

Associate Professor Debra Waters
Email: debra.waters@otago.ac.nz

Gut Health (Gastroenterology):

Associate Professor Michael Schultz
Email: michael.schultz@otago.ac.nz

Kidney in Health and Disease:

Professor Rob Walker
Email: rob.walker@otago.ac.nz

Leukocyte and Inflammation:

Dr Paul Hessian
Email: paul.hessian@otago.ac.nz

Neurology:

Associate Professor Graeme Hammond-Tooke
Email: graeme.hammond-tooke@otago.ac.nz
Dr Nick Cutfield
Email: nick.cutfield@southerndhb.govt.nz

Oncology:

Dr Chris Jackson
Email: chris.jackson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Ophthalmology:

Dr Logan Mitchell
Email: logan.mitchell@otago.ac.nz

Respiratory Diseases:

Dr Ben Brockway
Email: ben.brockway@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jack Dummer
Email: jack.dummer@otago.ac.nz

Rheumatology:

Associate Professor Simon Stebbings
Email: simon.stebbings@otago.ac.nz

Sports and Exercise Medicine:

Dr Hamish Osborne
Email: hamish.osborne@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Further information

For further information, please contact:

Jan Kettink
Research Administrator
Department of Medicine
Email medicine.research-administrator@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page