Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people

Dr Garry Nixon
Programme Director
Dunstan Hospital
P O Box 30 Clyde 9341
New Zealand
email: garry.nixon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katharina Blattner
Senior Lecturer
Paper co-convenor
GENA724 The Context of Rural Hospital Medicine
Hokianga Health, Rawene, Northland
email: katharina.blattner@otago.ac.nz

Wendy Finnie
Paper co-convenor
GENA717 Generalist Medical Echocardiography
GENA718 Generalist Medical Ultrasound
Echocardiographer, Otago
email: wendy.finnie@otago.ac.nz

Jill Muirhead
Paper co-convenor
GENA717 Generalist Medical Echocardiography
GENA718 Generalist Medical Ultrasound
Sonographer, Otago
email: jill.muirhead@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sampsa Kiuru
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA723 Trauma and Emergencies in Rural Settings
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
email: sampsa.kiuru@otago.ac.nz

Dr Marc Gutenstein
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA723 Trauma and Emergencies in Rural Settings
ED Consultant, Christchurch
email: marc.gutenstein@cdhb.health.nz

Dr Mark Smith
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA728 Cardiorespiratory Medicine in Rural Hospitals
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
email: markos_smithos@hotmail.com

Dr Emma Davey
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA729 Medical Specialties in Rural Hospitals
Hawera Hospital, Taranaki
email: emma.davey@otago.ac.nz

Dr Steve Withington
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA729 Medical Specialties in Rural Hospitals
Ashburton Hospital, Ashburton
email: steve.withington@cdhb.health.nz

Dr Yan Wong
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper Co-convenor
GENA725 Communication in Rural Hospital Medicine
Co-convenor
Rural CME Workshop
Rural GP and rural hospital doctor, Balclutha, South Otago
email: docyanwong@hotmail.com

Dr Matthew Born
Professional Practice Fellow
4th / 5th Year Rural Health Co-ordinator
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
email: matt.born@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nigel Cane
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper convenor
GENA724 The Context of Rural Hospital Medicine
Bay of Islands Hospital, Kawakawa, Northland
email: nigel.cane@otago.ac.nz

Dr Pete Kyriakoudis
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA726 Obstetrics and Paediatrics in Rural Hospitals
Grey Base Hospital, Greymouth, Westland
email: peter.kyriakoudis@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nina Stupples
Professional Practice Fellow
Paper co-convenor
GENA726 Obstetrics and Paediatrics in Rural Hospitals
Buller Health, Westport, Westland
email: stupples.nina@gmail.com

Dr Dave Fearnley
Senior Research Fellow
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
email: davefearnley@gmail.com

Programme administrators


Bron Hunt
Dunstan Hospital, Clyde, Central Otago
Telephone: 64 3 440 4345
Mobile: 64 27 225 2987
email: bron.hunt@otago.ac.nz

Mitty Neill
Hokianga Health, Rawene, Northland
Mobile: 64 21 0226 4975
email: mitty.neill@otago.ac.nz

IT support


David McDowall
Otago / Southland
email: david.mcdowall@wellsouth.org.nz