Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic Staff

Head of Department

Michelle-Thompson-Fawcett-headAssociate Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett


Office: Richardson Building, see Reception Rm 4C9
Phone: 64 3 479 8762
Email: michelle.thompson-fawcett@otago.ac.nz

contemporary environmental management, planning, governance and decision-making activities

Chief Course Advisor


Academics

Tony Binns Staff photoProfessor Tony Binns


Office: Richardson Building, room 4C19
Phone: 64 3 479 5356
Email: tony.binns@otago.ac.nz

sustainable livelihoods and community-based development

Ron Lister Chair in Geography


Sean-Fitzsimons-headProfessor Sean Fitzsimons


Office: Richardson Building room 5C12a
Phone: 64 3 479 8786
Email: sean.fitzsimons@otago.ac.nz

contemporary geomorphology processes


ClaireFreeman-headProfessor Claire Freeman


Office: Richardson Building, room 4C21
Phone: 64 3 479 8785
Email: claire.freeman@otago.ac.nz

sustainable community planning and development


RKM_Academic_PageProfessor Richard Morgan


Office: Richardson Building, room 4C15
Phone: 64 3 479 8782
Email: richard.morgan@otago.ac.nz

environmental management, impact assessment

Coordinator AppSc Programme - Environmental Management
Senior Science Advisor


Etienne-Nel-headProfessor Etienne Nel


Office: Richardson Building, room 4C24
Phone: 64 3 479 8548
Email: etienne.nel@otago.ac.nz

economic and urban geography

Senior Arts Advisor


Nicolas Cullen PhotoAssociate Professor Nicolas Cullen


Office: Richardson Building room 4C12a
Phone: 63 3 479 3069
Emails: nicolas.cullen@otago.ac.nz

meteorology and climatology


MikeHilton-headAssociate Professor Mike Hilton


Office: Richardson Building, room 4C16
Phone: 64 3 479 8778
Email: michael.hilton@otago.ac.nz

geomorphology, ecology and management of dunal coasts 


Sophie-Bond-headDr Sophie Bond

Senior Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 4C12
Phone: 64 3 479 3068
Email: sophie.bond@otago.ac.nz

inequality, identity, power and place


Sean-Connelly-2-headDr Sean Connelly

Senior Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 5C24
Phone: 64 3 479 8771
Email: sean.connelly@otago.ac.nz

sustainable community planning and development


Doug-Hill-headDr Doug Hill

Senior Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 4C14
Phone: 64 3 479 8775
Email: douglas.hill@otago.ac.nz

rural development, environmental management and food security - South Asia


Daniel-Kingston-headDr Daniel Kingston

Senior Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 5C25
Phone: 64 3 479 8971
Email: daniel.kingston@otago.ac.nz

hydroclimatology, atmospheric circulation


Ralf-Ohlemuller-headDr Ralf Ohlemüller

Senior Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 5C22
Phone: 64 3 479 8784
Email: ralf.ohlemuller@otago.ac.nz

biogeography, climate change ecology, conservation


no photoDr Wayne Stephenson

Senior Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 5C24
Phone: 64 3 479 8776
Email: wayne.stephenson@otago.ac.nz

coastal geomorphology and management


Christina-Ergler-2-headDr Christina Ergler

Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 5C23
Phone: 64 3 479 4647
Email: christina.ergler@otago.ac.nz

geographies of children's wellbeing in urban environments


SarahMager-2-headDr Sarah Mager

Lecturer

Office: Richardson Building, room 4C23
Phone: 64 3 479 4222
Email: sarah.mager@otago.ac.nz

hydrology, geomorphology


ros day-cleavin staff photoRosalind Day-Cleavin

Professional Practice Fellow


Office: Richardson Building, room 4C25
Phone: 64 3 479 8780
Email: rosalind.day-cleavin@otago.ac.nz

environmental policy and planning

Coordinator - Masters of Planning Programme


BenVarkalis-headBen Varkalis

Teaching Fellow

Office: Richardson Building, room 5C13
Phone: 64 3 479 9241
Email: ben.varkalis@otago.ac.nz

Ben assists with the running of GEOG101, GEOG102, ENVI111 and GEOG290