Department of Geology

Search

People

General enquiries and administrative matters:

Academic Administrator
geology@otago.ac.nz

ph + 64 3 479 7519

Prospective students: see our Information page before contacting our staff directly.
Potential research visitors: see our Research Visitor Policy

Academic Staff

Dave Prior

Professor David J. Prior

Head of Department
BSc (University of Wales), PhD (Leeds)

  • Grain Boundary Sliding (GBS) and Earth Rheology
  • The Alpine Fault Zone, South Island, New Zealand
  • Ice microstructure and mechanics

Email: david.prior@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 5279

Dave Craw

Professor Dave Craw
BSc PhD(Otago) MSc(Calgary)

  • economic geology
  • structure & mineralization in the Haast Schists
  • fluid flow in orogenic belts

Email dave.craw@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 7529

Ewan Fordyce

Professor R. Ewan Fordyce
BSc PhD(Cant)

  • vertebrate paleobiology
  • systematics and phylogeny of Cetacea (whales and dolphins)
  • Cretaceous-Cenozoic paleontology & stratigraphy
  • paleoceanography and paleoclimates

Email ewan.fordyce@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 7510

Andrew Gorman

Assoc Prof Andrew R. Gorman
BSc(Calgary) PhD(Br Col)

  • geophysics
  • crustal controlled-source seismology
  • marine seismology
  • gas hydrates

Email andrew.gorman@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 7516

Uew  Kaulfuss

Dr Uwe Kaulfuss
Post Doctoral Fellow/ Teaching Fellow
PhD(Otago)

Email: uwe.kaulfuss@otago.ac.nz

Phone:

Daphne Lee

Assoc. Prof. Daphne E. Lee
BSc PhD(Otago)

  • Cenozoic paleobotany and paleoclimate
  • invertebrate paleontology (brachiopods)
  • Cenozoic stratigraphy
  • earth science education

Email daphne.lee@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 7525

Doug MacKenzie

Dr Doug MacKenzie
BSc(Toronto), MSc PhD(Otago) MAusIMM CP(GEO)

  • economic geology
  • orogenic gold deposits
  • structure and fluid flow in the Haast Schists, NZ and Yukon Tanana Terrane, Canada

Email doug.mackenzie@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 8023

Candace Martin

Dr Candace E. Martin
BS(NCarol) MPhil PhD(Yale)

  • environmental geology
  • biogeochemical cycles
  • radiogenic isotope and trace element geochemistry

Email candace.martin@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 7526

Chris Moy

Dr Christopher Moy
BSc (Union College) MSc (Syracuse University) PhD (Stanford University)

  • Sedimentology
  • Stable Isotope Geochemistry
  • Paleoclimatology

Email chris.moy@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 470 3538

Christian Ohneiser

Dr Christian Ohneiser
MSc, PhD (Otago)

  • Paleomagnetism

Email christian.ohneiser@otago.ac.nz

Phone 64 3 479 7350

Mike Palin

Dr J. Michael Palin
BA(Calif State Fullerton) MS(New Mexico Tech) PhD(Yale)

  • mineralogy and petrology
  • geochronology and isotope geology
  • mineral deposits

Email michael.palin@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 9083

Christina Riesselman

Dr Christina Riesselman
BA (University of Nebraska-Lincoln) PhD (Stanford University)

  • Cenozoic paleoceanography and paleoclimate
  • Antarctic climate evolution
  • micropaleontology (diatoms)
  • geochemical proxies of paleoenvironmental change

Email: christina.riesselman@otago.ac.nz

Phone (Geology): +64 3 479 7505
(Marine Science): +64 3 479-5621

Matt Sagar

Dr Matt Sagar
Teaching fellow
BscHons, PhD-submitted (Otago)

  • 100-level teaching (EAOS111 and GEOL112)
  • U-Pb geochronology
  • 40Ar/39Ar and fission-track thermochronology
  • New Zealand tectonics

Email: matthew.sagar@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 5695

James Scott

James Scott
PhD (Otago)

  • Metamorphic petrology
  • Microprobe contact person
Email: james.scott (a) otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7520
Steve Smith

Dr Steven A.F Smith
MSci PhD (Durham)

  • Structure and mechanical properties of fault zones
  • Fault rock microstructure
  • Deformation experiments
  • Structural Geology

Email: steven.smith@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7515

Virginia Toy

Dr Virginia G. Toy
BSc MSc(Auckland) MPhil(ANU) PhD (Otago)

  • structure of shear zones
  • microstructure and texture analysis
  • coseismic fault rocks
  • SW Pacific tectonics

Email virginia.toy@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7506

Dr JDL White

Assoc. Prof. James D.L. White
BA BSc(TCU) MSc(Missouri) PhD(UCSB)

  • subaqueous & subglacial eruptions
  • explosive basaltic eruptions
  • shallow intrusions
  • volcaniclastic sedimentology

Email james.white@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 9009

Gary Wilson

Professor Gary S. Wilson

Marine Science
BSc BMus PhD(Well)

  • palaeomagnetism
  • integrated chronostratigraphy
  • palaeoceanography
  • palaeoclimatology
  • stratigraphy, sedimentology & palaeoenvironments

Email gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 7509

Research Staff

Alan Cooper

Emeritus Professor Alan F. Cooper
BSc(Sheff) PhD(Otago)

  • metamorphic mineralogy & petrology of the Haast Schists
  • petrogenesis of carbonatites and the N.Z. lamprophyre dyke swarms
  • Alpine Fault structure and activity
  • Antarctica

Email alan.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Phone: +64 3 479 5615

jan Leunissen

Dr Jan Leunissen
Research associate
MSc, PhD University of Utrecht

  • High pressure ice formation
  • Cryo fixation and structural preservation of bio-samples

Email: leunissen@aurion.nl

Jon Lindqvist

Dr Jon Lindqvist
Research Fellow
MSc, PhD (Otago)

  • Sedimentology and ichnology 
  • On-land southern NZ Cretaceous–Tertiary basin stratigraphy

Email:  jonlind@ihug.co.nz

Phone  021 1762136

Faye Nelson

Dr Faye Nelson
Assistant Research Fellow (Marine Science, Office in Geology Department)
PhD (Otago)

Email: faye.nelson (a) otago.ac.nz

Prof. RJ Norris

Emeritus Professor Richard J. Norris
MA DPhil(Oxon) FGS FRSNZ

  • structural geology & tectonics
  • neotectonics, paleoseismology, Alpine Fault structure
  • N.Z. Cenozoic tectonics & basin evolution
  • deformation in the Haast Schists

Email richard.norris@otago.ac.nz

Prof. RH Sibson

Professor Emeritus Richard H. Sibson
BSc(Auck) MSc PhD DIC(Lond) FRS FGS FRSNZ

  • Structural analysis of the 2010-2012 Canterbury Earthquake Sequence
  • Seismotectonics of active compressional inversion in NE Honshu and the physical conditions of seismogenesis along subduction megathrusts
  •  seismogenesis in the Buller region of active compressional inversion
  •  earthquake rupturing in fluid-overpressured crust

129 Takamatua Bay Rd., RD1
Akaroa 7581, Bank's Peninsula
New Zealand

Phone: +64-3-304-8003 

Email rick.sibson@otago.ac.nz

General Staff

Adrien Dever

Adrien Dever
Administration/Enquiries

Hamish Bowman

Hamish Bowman
Research Assistant
MSc (Marine Science) pending University of Otago

  • research support for marine geophysical operations and seismic analysis lab

Email hamish.bowman (at) otago ac nz

Marco Brenna

Dr Marco Brenna
Scientific officer

  • Microbeam analytical techniques
  • X-ray spectroscopy

Email: marco.brenna@otago.ac.nz

SEM lab Ph: 471 6097

Luke Easterbrook

Luke Easterbrook
Scientific Illustrator
BSc, MSc (Otago)

  • computer graphics support
  • website management
  • GIS system

Email: luke.easterbrook@otago.ac.nz
Ph: +64 3 479 7554

kat Lilly

Dr Kat Lilly
Scientific officer
BSc (Hons), PhD ANU

  • Microbeam analytical techniques
  • X-ray spectroscopy
  • Pleistocene history of the East Antarctic ice sheet
  • Cosmogenic exposure dating

Email kat.lilly@otago.ac.nz

SEM lab Ph: 471 6097

On Leave until 2015- Contact Marco Brenna^

Brent Pooley

Brent W Pooley
Petrology Technician
BSc (Otago)

  • thin sectioning and polishing of rock samples
  • equipment maintenance

Email brent.pooley@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7502

Claudio Tapia

Claudio A. Tapia
Teaching Support Technician, Curator, Otago Paleomagnetic Research Facility supervisor

BSc, MSc (Universidad de Chile) & PhD (Otago)

  • Supervision and maintenance, of teaching laboratories.
  • Technical and organisational support for all teaching activities.
  • Curator of departmental collections.

Email claudio.tapia@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7513

Damien Walls

Damian J Walls
Safety Officer, X-ray Lab, Computing
MSc (Otago)

  • Departmental Laboratory Manager
  • X-ray Diffractometer & geochemistry laboratories
  • information technology
  • computer support
  • computer networks

Email damian.walls@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7533

Sophie White

Sophie White
Paleontology Lab Technician
BA (Otago)

  • Fossil Preparation
  • Curation and conservation of collections
  • Geology Museum

 

John Williams

Dr John G Williams
Departmental Administrator
BSc(Hons) PhD(Otago)

  • orders, accounts & purchasing
  • equipment hire & loan
  • vehicle bookings

Email jg.williams@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7523