Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic and research staff at the Department of Geology

Academic Staff


James White smProfessor James D.L. White

Head of Department
BA BSc(TCU) MSc(Missouri) PhD(UCSB)

  • subaqueous & subglacial eruptions
  • explosive basaltic eruptions
  • shallow intrusions
  • volcaniclastic sedimentology

Email james.white@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 9009


Marco Brenna smDr Marco Brenna

BSc (University of Western Australia), PhD (Massey)

  • Igneous petrology and geochemistry
  • Volcanology
  • Magma ascent dynamics

Email: marco.brenna (a) otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 5634


Dave Craw smProfessor Dave Craw

BSc PhD(Otago) MSc(Calgary) FRSNZ

  • economic geology
  • structure & mineralization in the Haast Schists
  • fluid flow in orogenic belts

Email dave.craw@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7529


Ewan Fordyce smProfessor R. Ewan Fordyce

BSc PhD(Cant) FRSNZ

  • vertebrate paleobiology
  • systematics and phylogeny of Cetacea (whales and dolphins)
  • Cretaceous-Cenozoic paleontology & stratigraphy
  • paleoceanography and paleoclimates

Email ewan.fordyce@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7510


Andrew Gorman smAssoc Prof Andrew R. Gorman

BSc(Calgary) PhD(Br Col)

  • geophysics
  • crustal controlled-source seismology
  • marine seismology
  • gas hydrates

Email andrew.gorman@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7516


Uwe Kaulfuss smDr Uwe Kaulfuss

Post Doctoral Fellow/ Teaching Fellow
PhD(Otago)

Email: uwe.kaulfuss@otago.ac.nz


Daphne Lee smAssoc Prof Daphne E. Lee

BSc PhD(Otago)

  • Cenozoic paleobotany and paleoclimate
  • invertebrate paleontology (brachiopods)
  • Cenozoic stratigraphy
  • earth science education

Email daphne.lee@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7525


Doug MacKenzie smDr Doug MacKenzie

BSc(Toronto), MSc PhD(Otago) MAusIMM CP(GEO)

  • economic geology
  • orogenic gold deposits
  • structure and fluid flow in the Haast Schists, NZ and Yukon Tanana Terrane, Canada

Email doug.mackenzie@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 8023


Candace Martin smDr Candace E. Martin

BS(NCarol) MPhil PhD(Yale)

  • environmental geology
  • biogeochemical cycles
  • radiogenic isotope and trace element geochemistry

Email candace.martin@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7526


Ray MarxMr Ray Marx

Teaching Fellow
BSc MSc (Otago)

  • Teaching undergraduate labs and field classes
  • Sedimentology
  • Volcanology
  • Economic geology
  • Mapping

Email: ray.marx@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 5695


Chris Moy smDr Christopher Moy

BSc (Union College) MSc (Syracuse University) PhD (Stanford University)

  • Sedimentology
  • Stable Isotope Geochemistry
  • Paleoclimatology

Email chris.moy@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 470 3538


Christian Ohneiser smDr Christian Ohneiser

MSc, PhD (Otago)

  • Paleomagnetism
  • Paleoclimate/ocean reconstructions
  • Antarctic climate evolution

Email christian.ohneiser@otago.ac.nz
Phone 64 3 479 7350


Mike Palin smDr J. Michael Palin

BA(Calif State Fullerton) MS(New Mexico Tech) PhD(Yale)

  • mineralogy and petrology
  • geochronology and isotope geology
  • mineral deposits

Email michael.palin@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 9083


Dave Prior smProfessor David J. Prior

BSc (University of Wales), PhD (Leeds)

  • Grain Boundary Sliding (GBS) and Earth Rheology
  • The Alpine Fault Zone, South Island, New Zealand
  • Ice microstructure and mechanics

Email: david.prior@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 5279


Christina Riesselman smDr Christina Riesselman

BA (University of Nebraska-Lincoln) PhD (Stanford University)

  • Cenozoic paleoceanography and paleoclimate
  • Antarctic climate evolution
  • micropaleontology (diatoms)
  • geochemical proxies of paleoenvironmental change

Email: christina.riesselman@otago.ac.nz
Phone (Geology): 64 3 479 7505
(Marine Science): 64 3 479 5732


James Scott smDr James Scott

PhD (Otago)

  • Mantle dynamics and history
  • Orogenic and mesothermal mineralisation
  • New Zealand’s terranes and metamorphism

Email: james.scott (a) otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7520


Steve Smith smDr Steven A.F Smith

MSci PhD (Durham)

  • Structure and mechanical properties of fault zones
  • Fault rock microstructure
  • Deformation experiments
  • Structural Geology
  • Geology Department Seminar co-ordinator

Email: steven.smith@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7515


Mark StirlingProfessor Mark W. Stirling

BSc, MSc (University of Otago), PhD (University of Nevada Reno)

  • Multidisciplinary seismic hazard modelling
  • Seismotectonics
  • Earthquake statistics
  • Tectonic geomorphology

Email: mark.stirling [@] otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 470 3539


Virgnia Toy smDr Virginia G. Toy

BSc MSc(Auckland) MPhil(ANU) PhD (Otago)

  • structure of shear zones
  • microstructure and texture analysis
  • coseismic fault rocks
  • SW Pacific tectonics

Email virginia.toy@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7506


Gary Wilson smProfessor Gary S. Wilson

Marine Science
BSc BMus PhD(Well)

  • palaeomagnetism
  • integrated chronostratigraphy
  • palaeoceanography
  • palaeoclimatology
  • stratigraphy, sedimentology & palaeoenvironments

Email gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz
Phone: 64 3 479 7509

Research Staff


Alan Cooper smEmeritus Professor Alan F. Cooper

BSc(Sheff) PhD(Otago)

  • metamorphic mineralogy & petrology of the Haast Schists
  • petrogenesis of carbonatites and the N.Z. lamprophyre dyke swarms
  • Alpine Fault structure and activity
  • Antarctica

Email alan.cooper@otago.ac.nz


Tobias DurigDr Tobias Dürig

Postdoctoral Fellow
Dipl. phys., Dr. rer. nat. (Uni Wurzburg)

  • experimental volcanology
  • generation processes of volcanic ash
  • magma-water interaction
  • ash plume dynamics

Email: tobias.durig @ otago.ac.nz


Jon Lindqvist smDr Jon Lindqvist

Research Fellow
MSc, PhD (Otago)

  • Sedimentology and ichnology
  • On-land southern NZ Cretaceous–Tertiary basin stratigraphy

Email: jonlind@ihug.co.nz
Phone 64 21 176 2136


Rick Sibson smProfessor Emeritus Richard H. Sibson

BSc(Auck) MSc PhD DIC(Lond) FRS FGS FRSNZ

  • Structural analysis of the 2010-2012 Canterbury Earthquake Sequence
  • Seismotectonics of active compressional inversion in NE Honshu and the physical conditions of seismogenesis along subduction megathrusts
  •  seismogenesis in the Buller region of active compressional inversion
  •  earthquake rupturing in fluid-overpressured crust

60 Brabant Drive
Mapua 7005, Tasman District
New Zealand

Email rick.sibson@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64-3-540-3713 (or +64-3-304-8003 - Takamatua)


Erin ToddDr Erin Todd

Postdoctoral Fellow
BS (Penn State University), PhD (University of California Santa Cruz)

  • Seismotectonics
  • Earthquake seismology
  • Geodynamic modelling

Email: erin.todd[at]otago.ac.nz