Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

General Staff in the Department of Geology


Dee-Roben_smDee Roben

  • Administration/Enquiries

geology@otago.ac.nz
dee.roben@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7519


Hamish Bowman smHamish Bowman

Computing and Numerical Simulation Technician
MSc (Marine Science) pending University of Otago

  • General computing and IT support
  • Programming and numerical simulation
  • Electronics, hardware and software interfaces

Email: hamish.bowman (at) otago ac nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7517


Luke Easterbrook smLuke Easterbrook

Scientific Illustrator
BSc, MSc (Otago)

  • computer graphics support
  • website management
  • GIS system

Email: luke.easterbrook@otago.ac.nz
Ph: +64 3 479 7554


Gemma Kerr smGemma Kerr

Geochemistry/X ray Lab Technician
BSc (Hons)

  • Geochemistry/ X ray Lab technician
  • SEM lab

Email: gemma.kerr@otago.ac.nz
Office Phone: +64 3 479 7523

PhD student page for Gemma


Marianne Negrini_smDr Marianne Negrini

Electron Beam Data Technician
MSc (Uni Zurich), PhD (Uni Tromsø)

  • SEM Support

Email: marianne.negrini[at]otago.ac.nz

SEM lab Phone: +64 3 471 6097
Office Phone: +64 3 479 7507


Fay Nelson smDr Faye Nelson (Marine Science)

Otago Paleomagnetic Research Facility - Lab Supervisor
PhD (Otago)

Email: faye.nelson[at]otago.ac.nz


Dianne NyhofDianne Nyhof

Curator/Teaching Support/Outreach
BSc, PGDipSci (Otago)

  • Curating department collections
  • Teaching support for undergraduate classes
  • Outreach coordinator

Email: dianne.nyhof[at]otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7513


Brent Pooley smBrent W Pooley

Petrology Technician
BSc (Otago)

  • thin sectioning and polishing of rock samples
  • equipment maintenance

Email: brent.pooley@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7502


Damian Walls smDamian J Walls

Departmental Administrator, Safety Officer
MSc (Otago)

  • general staff manager
  • orders, accounts & purchasing
  • building and lab management

Email: damian.walls@otago.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 479 7533


Sophie White smSophie White

Paleontology Lab Technician
BA (Otago)

  • Fossil Preparation
  • Curation and conservation of collections
  • Geology Museum