Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Kaiāwhina Māori - Support for Māori students

Kaiāwhina Māori — Māori Student Support Officer

The Division of Humanities Kaiāwhina Māori network is here to help students

  • access academic and pastoral support
  • provide assistance with advocacy and scholarships,
  • and liaise with Humanities departments regarding things Māori.

Our Divisional Kaiāwhina, Ana Rangi, works with a team of Departmental Kaiāwhina across the Division.

The Departmental Kaiāwhina are also available to help with any queries or issues you may have.

Tēnā koutou katoa

ana_rangiMy name is Ana Rangi and I am the Kaiāwhina Māori - Māori Student Support Officer for the Division of Humanities. I am of Ngāti Porou/Ngāti Kahungunu/Whakatōhea/Ngāti Kuia/Ngāti Koata descent, and originally from Christchurch.

I have a BA (Māori/Japanese) from Canterbury University and have also done postgraduate study in Māori Development at Massey University.

I look forward to meeting you and helping where possible.

Tel 64 3 479 8681
Fax 64 3 479 5024
Email humanities.kaiawhina@otago.ac.nz
Office Room 5C9, Te Whare Kete Aronui (Arts Building),
95 Albany Street, University of Otago, Dunedin

My office hours

Monday 8.00am-2.30pm | Tuesday 8.00am-2.30pm | Wednesday 8.00am-2.30pm | Friday 8.00am-4.30pm

Humanities Departmental Kaiāwhina Contacts

Anthropology & Archaeology

Professor Richard Walter
richard.walter@otago.ac.nz

Classics

Dr Arlene Allan
arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz

College of Education

Dunedin Campus

Associate Professor David Bell
david.bell@otago.ac.nz

Yvonne Brouwer
yvonne.brouwer@otago.ac.nz

Judy Layland
judy.layland@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jacques Van Der Meer
jacques.vandermeer@otago.ac.nz 

Southland Campus

Parker Ormond
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

English and Linguistics

Nicola Cummins
nicola.cummins@otago.ac.nz

Geography

Ben Varkalis
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz

History and Art History

Dr Michael Stevens
michael.stevens@otago.ac.nz

Languages and Cultures

Esther Wells
esther.wells@otago.ac.nz

Faculty of Law

Associate Professor Jacinta Ruru
jacinta.ruru@otago.ac.nz

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Kevin Fisher
kevin.fisher@otago.ac.nz

Dr Davinia Thornley
davinia.thornley@otago.ac.nz

Music, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts

Music

Dr Jennifer Cattermole
jennifer.cattermole@otago.ac.nz

Theatre Studies and Performing Arts

Hilary Halba
hilary.halba@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr Heather Devere
heather.devere@otago.ac.nz

Philosophy

Dr Andrew Moore
andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Politics

Dr Iati Iati
iati.iati@otago.ac.nz

Psychology

Sociology, Gender and Social Work

Shayne Walker
shayne.walker@otago.ac.nz

Anaru Eketone
anaru.eketone@otago.ac.nz

Te Tumu

Dr Lyn Carter
lyn.carter@otago.ac.nz

Theology and Religion

Revd Dr James Harding
james.harding@otago.ac.nz

Library Contacts

Shiobhan Smith
Liaison Librarian, Central Library
Email shiobhan.smith@otago.ac.nz

Alexander Ritchie
Subject Librarian, Robertson Library
Email alexander.ritchie@otago.ac.nz

Jacinta Beckwith
Hocken Collections
Email jacinta.beckwith@otago.ac.nz

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Collections
Email katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz

Student Learning Centre Contact

Pauline Brook
pauline.brook@otago.ac.nz
Tel 64 3 479 5788

Career Development Centre Contacts

Yvonne Gaut
yvonne.gaut@otago.ac.nz
Tel 64 3 479 9149

Petra Hass
petra.hass@otago.ac.nz
Tel 64 3 479 5354