Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Support for Pacific Islands Students

Pacific Islands Students' Support

Warm Pacific Greetings

We are here to support all Pacific students enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees. We help to:

  • Liaise with academic departments and support services with respect to any issues relating to you and your course of study
  • Facilitate access to pastoral care, student services, course planning advice within the university.

Please contact the Division of Humanities if you have a question, a comment or a concern.

Confidentiality and action with any problems or queries are guaranteed. We are here to help you. If we are unable to help you, we will connect you with someone who can.

Tel 64 3 479 8671
Email humanities@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Departmental Pacific Islands Students contacts

Anthropology & Archaeology

Professor Glenn Summerhayes
glenn.summerhayes@otago.ac.nz

Classics

Dr Arlene Allan
arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz

College of Education

Early Childhood

Associate Professor Jacques Van der Meer
jacques.vandermeer@otago.ac.nz

Primary

Associate Professor Jacques Van der Meer
jacques.vandermeer@otago.ac.nz

Southland Campus

Pauline Smith
pauline.smith@otago.ac.nz

English and Linguistics

Associate Professor Jacob Edmond
jacob.edmond@otago.ac.nz

Geography

Ben Varkalis
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

History and Art History

Professor Judy Bennett
judy.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Languages and Cultures

Dr Christiane Leurquin
christiane.leurquin@otago.ac.nz

Faculty of Law

Professor Rex Ahdar
rex.ahdar@otago.ac.nz

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Kevin Fisher
kevin.fisher@otago.ac.nz

Music, Theatre and Performing Arts

Music

Dr Jennifer Cattermole
jennifer.cattermole@otago.ac.nz

Theatre Studies

Lisa Warrington
lisa.warrington@otago.ac.nz

Bachelor of Performing Arts

Dr Suzanne Little
suzanne.little@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr SungYong Lee
sungyong.lee@otago.ac.nz

Philosophy

Associate Professor Andrew Moore
andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Politics

Dr Iati Iati  (First Semester)
iati.iati@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Brian Roper (Second Semester)
brian.roper@otago.ac.nz

Psychology

Dr Mele Taumoepeau
mele@psy.otago.ac.nz

Sociology, Gender and Social Work

Dr Patrick Vakaoti
patrick.vakaoti@otago.ac.nz

Te Tumu

Dr Michelle Schaaf
michelle.schaaf@otago.ac.nz

Theology and Religion

Professor Murray Rae
murray.rae@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Library Contacts

Shiobhan Smith
Liaison Librarian, Central Library
shiobhan.smith@otago.ac.nz

Jacinta Beckwith
Kaitiaki Mātauranga, Hocken Library
jacinta.beckwith@otago.ac.nz

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Library
katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Mills
Liaison Librarian, Hocken Library
amanda.mills@otago.ac.nz

Student Learning Development

Pauline Brook
pauline.brook@otago.ac.nz
+64 3 479 5788