Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Information Science Technology Challenge

Monday, 27 June 2016

During the 2016 Information Science Technology Challenge eleven teams presented their ideas to the judging panel which consisted of our Head of Department Professor Michael Winikoff, Animation Research Ltd Developer Stefanie Zollman, and HappyMoose Co-founder Alex Dong.

The winners in the categories of:

Overall Winner - Otago Girls High School

Best Understanding of the Technology - Logan Park High School

Best Presentation - Mt Aspiring College

Audience Choice  - Mt Aspiring College.

Congratulations to all the participating teams and a huge thank you to our sponsors Education Perfect, Cyclone Computer Ltd, University Bookshop and Dunedin Taxis.  Thank you also to our own Otago Business School.

2016 is the 10th year we have held a “challenge day” (ISTC) for year 12 & 13 students from the Dunedin and surrounding regions.  Some teams had never participated before, whilst others were regulars.

As Professor Michael Winikoff, our Head of Department explains it, “Information Science is the study of how information is used by people within organisations, often with the aid of computing systems.  It is an important and exciting field that is changing rapidly and it plays a vital role in just about everything we do.”

So, what do the teams actual do at ISTC?

At the beginning of the day staff give a brief overview of some technologies and how they are used in our everyday life.  The teams are challenged to come up with their own idea of how to use technology in a real life situation.  They will be given some examples of existing technology, links to further information, and our staff will give them guidance on how to prepare and present their idea.

The teams then present to a panel of three judges who decide on the winners in the categories of:

Best Understanding of the Technology; Best Presentation; Overall Winner.

The audience get to vote for their favourite for the Audience Choice award.

Interested to learn more-visit the website here