Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our staff

Head of Department

Professor Steve Dawsonsteve_dawson

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 143
Phone: 479-7468
Cell: 021 276 4110
Email: steve.dawson@otago.ac.nz

marine conservation, behaviour and ecology of whales, dolphins and other marine mammals.

 


Academic Staff  TopButton

Dr Federico Baltarfederico.baltar

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 102
Phone: 479-5621
Cell: 021 279 5621
Email: federico.baltar@otago.ac.nz

Microbial Oceanography, Marine Biogeochemistry, Aquatic Microbial Ecology, Biophysical processes, Climate change

 


Associate Professor Chris Hepburnchris_hepburn

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 144 or PML, room 305
Phone: 479-7462 (campus), 479-5820 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 7462
Email: chris.hepburn@otago.ac.nz

customary fisheries, eco-physiology of macroalgae
Director, Aquaculture and Fisheries Programme

 


Associate Professor Miles Lamaremiles_lamare

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 101 or PML, room 306
Phone: 479-7463 (campus), 479-7463 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 7463
Email: miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz

fjord systems, Antarctic biology

Kaiawhina - Māori Student Support Liaison
MSc Coordinator

 


Dr Will Raymentwill_rayment


Office:
310 Castle Street, room 211a
Phone: 479-8304
Email: will.rayment@otago.ac.nz

marine mammal ecology, marine conservation

 


Dr Christina Riesselmanchristina_riesselman


Office:
(Marine Science) 310 Castle Street, room 105, (Geology) room GN1
Phone:  (Marine Science) 479-5621, (Geology) 479-7505
Email: christina.riesselman@otago.ac.nz

Cenozoic paleoceanography and paleoclimate

 


Dr Candida Savagecandida_savage

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 148 or PML, room 210
Phone: 479-8324 (campus), 479-5823
Email: candida.savage@otago.ac.nz

marine ecology and ecosystems, nutrient cycling, palaeoecology

Fourth-year Coordinator

 


Professor Abby Smithabby_smith

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 103
Phone: 479-7470
Email: abby.smith@otago.ac.nz

Marine sedimentology, skeletal geochemistry

Chief Course Advisor

 


Rob SmithRob_Smith

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 150
Phone: 479-5365
Email: robert.smith@otago.ac.nz

Physical Oceanography

 

 


Associate Professor Ross VennellRoss Vennell

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 150
Phone: 479-8307
Email: ross.vennell@otago.ac.nz

physical oceanography/ocean physics, tidal physics, oceanography of estuaries, straits and channels, headland and island eddies

 


Professor Gary Wilsongary_wilson

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 147
Phone: 479-7509
Email: gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

marine geology, marine sedimentology, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology paleomagnetism

 


Dr Lucy Wing (née Jack)lucy_wing

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 105
Phone: 479-8307
Email: lucy.wing@otago.ac.nz

marine ecology, food webs, stable isotopes, trace metals, zooarchaeology

Statistical Advisor  

 


Professor Steve Wingsteve_wing

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 145 or PML, room 211
Phone: 479-9038 (campus), 479-5827 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 9038
Email: steve.wing@otago.ac.nz

marine ecology, coastal ecosystems, marine conservation, food webs, population biology, fisheries

PhD Coordinator


Honorary Staff  TopButton

Dr Katrin Berkenbusch

Dr Trudi Webster

Research and Teaching Fellows

Steve Cutlersteve_cutler

Office: PML, room 309
Phone: 479-5843
Email: steve.cutler@otago.ac.nz

MARI112
NZMSC Public Education

 

 


Dr Jean McKinnonjean_mckinnon

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 141
Phone: 479-5453
Email: jean.mckinnon@otago.ac.nz

MARI 112
MARI 202
MARI 301
OCEN 322
NZMSC Education

 

 


Sorrel O'Connell-Milne

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 105
Phone: 479-5746
Email: sorrel.oconnell-milne@otago.ac.nz

Teaching Fellow AQFI 252/352

 

 


Dr Pete Russellpeter_russell

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 141
Phone: 479-5453
Email: peter.russell@otago.ac.nz

AQFI 251, AQFI 301 AQFI 351, AQFI 421
MARI 112, MARI 401
OCEN 201, OCEN 301, OCEN 321, OCEN 322, OCEN 323

 

 

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Catherine Beltran

Office: Chemistry Building
Phone: 021 674 582
Email: catherine.beltran@otago.ac.nz

NZARI Senior Research Fellow

Postdoctoral fellows

Dr Alice Harang

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 105
Phone: 479-5759
Email: alice.harang@otago.ac.nz

MARSDEN Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Support staff  TopButton

Campus site                       

Mrs Chris Fitzpatrick

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 142
Phone: 479-5085
Cell: 021 57 5085
Email: chris.fitzpatrick@otago.ac.nz

Department Manager


Daryl Coup

Office: 310 Castle Street, room G40
Phone: 479-8308
Email: daryl.coup@otago.ac.nz

Computer Support/Programmer


Bob Dagg

Office: 310 Castle Street, room G40 or PML room 301
Phone: 479-8308 (campus), 479-5815 (PML)
Cell: 021 279 5815
Email: bob.dagg@otago.ac.nz

Scientific Officer / Sediment Core Specialist


Helen Dunn

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 146
Phone:479-4104
Email: pahod.marinescience@otago.ac.nz

Academic Administrator/PA to HOD and Professor Gary Wilson


Julie-Anne Parsons

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 153
Phone: 479-8306
Cell: 021 279 8306
Email: julie-anne.parsons@otago.ac.nz

Fieldwork & Outreach Facilities Administrator


Portobello site

Shantelle Jackson

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5826, 479-5810
Email: shantelle.jackson@otago.ac.nz

Receptionist


New Zealand Marine Studies Centre

Sally Carson

Office: PML, room 213
Phone: 479-5842
Cell: 021 279 5842
Email: sally.carson@otago.ac.nz

Director


Tessa Mills

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5845
Email: tessa.mills@otago.ac.nz

Manager


John Campbell

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5841
Email: campbell.john@otago.ac.nz

Aquarist/Interpreter


Adelle O’Neill

Office: NZMSC
Phone: 479-5841
Email: adelle.oneill@otago.ac.nz

Curator


Shelley Dixon

Office: PML, room 309
Phone: 479-5843
Email: shelley.dixon@otago.ac.nz

Educator


Portobello Marine Laboratory

Dr Doug Mackie

Office: PML, room 209
Phone: 479-5811
Cell: 021 279 5811
Email: doug.mackie@otago.ac.nz

Manager, Portobello Marine Laboratory


Linda Groenewegen

Office: PML, room 211
Phone: 479-5813
Email: linda.groenewegen@otago.ac.nz

Laboratory and Instruments Technician


Reuben Pooley

Office: PML, room 211
Phone: 479-5813
Email: reuben.pooley@otago.ac.nz

Aquatic Systems Technician


Dave Wilson

Office: PML, workshop
Phone: 479-5822
Email: dave.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Workshop Technician


Vessels

Steve Little

Office: 310 Castle Street, room 2
Phone: 479-7465
Email: steve.little@otago.ac.nz

Chief Skipper


Bill Dickson

Office: PML, room 207
Phone: 479-5814
Cell: 021 283 7735
Email: bill.dickson@otago.ac.nz

Master of Polaris II


Sean Heseltine

Office: PML, room 207
Phone: 479-5814
Cell: 021 279 5814
Email: sean.heseltine@otago.ac.nz

Field Technician/Skipper


Evan Kenton

Office: PML, room 207
Phone: 479-5814
Cell: 021 248 3311
Email: evan.kenton@otago.ac.nz

Research Vessel Crew Person/Technician

TopButton