Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Exercise/Human Performance

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Katherine Black (Human Nutrition)

Sports nutrition; Fluid and electrolyte balance; Elite athletes nutrition; Ultra-endurance sports nutrition
Work: 64 3 479 8358
Email: katherine.black@otago.ac.nz

Dr Melanie Bussey (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Athletic injury; Sports biomechanics
Work: 64 3 479 8981 | Home: 64 21 152 4439
Email: melanie.bussey@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Chris Button (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Human performance; Sport science; Motor learning; Sports technology
Work: 64 3 479 9122
Email: chris.button@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jim Cotter (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Regulation of body temperature; Endurance exercise physiology; Heat stress; Ultra-endurance exercise; Hydration
Work: 64 3 479 9109
Email: jim.cotter@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Niels Hammer (Anatomy)

Biomechanics ; Clinical anatomy ; Clinical trials ; Clinical workshops ; Mechanobiology ; Mechanical properties ; Osteology ; Plastination; Tissue engineering; Bioscaffolds ; Hip joint; Pelvis ; Spine
Work: 64 3 479 5992
Email: niels.hammer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Phil Handcock (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Exercise prescription; Injury rehabilitation and return to play; Concussion; Strength and conditioning; Fitness testing; Professionalism; exercise, strength and conditioning
Work: 64 3 479 5025
Email: phil.handcock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Elaine Hargreaves (School of Physical Education, Sport & Exercise Science)

Psychology of physical activity/exercise; Physical activity behaviour change
Work: 64 3 479 8941
Email: elaine.hargreaves@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lynette Jones (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Exercise and cancer, particularly breast cancer; Use of exercise for healthy survivorship following a cancer diagnosis
Work: 64 3 479 8962 | Mobile: 64 21 208 3293
Email: lynnette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Peter Lamb (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Biomechanics; Coordination; Movement variability; Performance Analysis; Sports techniques; Golf science
Work: 64 3 479 9115
Email: peter.lamb@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sandy Mandic (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Physical activity and health; Built environment and active transport to school; Cardiac rehabilitation; Clinical exercise physiology
Work: 64 3 479 5415
Email: sandra.mandic@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Nancy Rehrer (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences/Human Nutrition)

Exercise physiology and metabolism; Sports nutrition; Environment, lifestyle and health
Work: 64 3 479 9128
Email: nancy.rehrer@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz