Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Tourism

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Julia Albrecht (Tourism, Otago Business School)

tourism management, tourism in wine destinations, nature-based tourism, visitor management
Work: 64 3 479 5441
Email: julia.albrecht@otago.ac.nz

Professor Neil Carr (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Tourism and leisure behaviour with a particular emphasis on animals (especially, but not exclusively, dogs) and animal rights, children and families, identity formation, risk taking, sex, freedom, and wellness and well-being
Work: 64 3 479 5048
Email: neil.carr@otago.ac.nz

Dr Willem Coetzee (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Event Management, sustainable tourism development and planning, small town tourism and regional development, sporting event
Work: 64 3 479 8430
Email: Willem.Coetzee@Otago.ac.nz

Dr Tara Duncan (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Gap Year travel; The OE (overseas experience); Backpacking and working tourists; Hospitality Studies (particularly issues related to HRM); Temporary migration, mobility and transnationalism
Work: 64 3 479 3846
Email: tara.duncan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sebastian Filep (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Tourist behaviour and positive psychology; happiness and well being
Work: 64 3 479 5403
Email: sebastian.filep@otago.ac.nz

Professor Juergen Gnoth (Marketing, Otago Business School)

Tourist behaviour; Tourism destination branding; Event management and marketing; Tourism destination management
Work: 64 3 479 8446
Email: juergen.gnoth@otago.ac.nz

Professor James Higham (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Wilderness management (including National parks management and planning); Impacts of tourism on wildlife (wildlife management re tourism); Physical impacts of tourism (impacts of tourism in natural areas, including national parks); Event tourism (event management); Ecotourism (ecotourism business operations, managing tourism in sensitive environments); Social impacts of tourism (crowding, recreational carrying capacity, recreational displacement); Sport and tourism (sports events and tourism); Environmental history (history of national parks)
Work: 64 3 479 8500
Email: james.higham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Craig Lee (Tourism)

Tourism; Hospitality; Innovation; Entrepreneurship; Restaurants; Small business; Research methods; Partial least squares path modelling
Work: 64 3 479 8197
Email: craig.lee@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Brent Lovelock (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Wildlife tourism (particularly hunting and fishing); Outdoor recreation; Tourism and conservation; Tourism and ethics/politics; Marine and island tourism
Work: 64 3 479 8069
Email: brent.lovelock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Orchiston (Centre for Sustainability, Geography)

Natural hazards - earthquakes, tsunami; Tourism resilience; Disaster recovery; Earthquakes; Alpine Fault; Community preparedness for disasters | Mobile: 64 21 077 8888
Email: caroline.orchiston@otago.ac.nz

Professor Phil Seddon (Zoology)

Ecotourism and management of tourism impacts on wildlife; Threatened species restorations and reintroductions; Penguins, particularly yellow-eyed penguins; Wildlife conservation and nature tourism in the Middle East; Wildlife habitat selection and resource use; Ecology, particularly the spatial ecology of introduced mammalian pests in New Zealand
Work: 64 3 479 7029
Email: philip.seddon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anna Thompson (Tourism, Centre for Recreation Research, Otago Business School)

Ecotourism, adventure tourism operations; Indigenous tourism; Recreation and outdoor education; Risk management; Protected natural area management; Environmental certification systems; Tourism entrepreneurship; Visitor interpretation
Work: 64 3 479 8057
Email: anna.thompson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Hazel Tucker (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Tourist behaviour; Socio-cultural implications of tourism; Heritage interpretation; Qualitative research methods
Work: 64 3 479 7641
Email: hazel.tucker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Trudie Walters (Tourism)

Second homes (holiday homes); Local and community events
Work: 64 3 479 4348
Email: trudie.walters@otago.ac.nz

Dr Leah Watkins (Marketing)

Advertising to children; Japanese travel behaviour; NZ Consumer Lifestyles; Sustainable consumption
Work: 64 3 479 8168
Email: leah.watkins@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tianyu Ying (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Destination marketing; Tourist behavior; Social network analysis
Work: 64 3 470 3459
Email: tianyu.ying@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz