Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Sport/Leisure

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Katherine Black (Human Nutrition)

Sports nutrition; Fluid and electrolyte balance; Elite athletes nutrition; Ultra-endurance sports nutrition
Work: 64 3 479 8358
Email: katherine.black@otago.ac.nz

Professor Douglas Booth (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

History of sport; Politics of sport
Work: 64 3 479 8995
Email: doug.booth@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Tania Cassidy (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Pedagogy of sports coaching and coach education/development; Youth development and sports coaching; Politics and policies of coach development and coach education
Work: 64 3 479 9070
Email: tania.cassidy@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mark Falcous (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Sport in the media; Sport and commercialisation; Sport and national identity
Work: 64 3 479 8944
Email: mark.falcous@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Gerrard (Medicine, Sports Medicine)

Clinical sports medicine; Overuse injury in pre-adolescent athletes; Sports injury; Bone mineral density and exercise; Drug misuse in sport
Work: 64 3 479 8381
Email: david.gerrard@otago.ac.nz

Professor James Higham (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Wilderness management (including National parks management and planning); Impacts of tourism on wildlife (wildlife management re tourism); Physical impacts of tourism (impacts of tourism in natural areas, including national parks); Event tourism (event management); Ecotourism (ecotourism business operations, managing tourism in sensitive environments); Social impacts of tourism (crowding, recreational carrying capacity, recreational displacement); Sport and tourism (sports events and tourism); Environmental history (history of national parks)
Work: 64 3 479 8500
Email: james.higham@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ken Hodge (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Motivational Orientations in Sport; Athlete Burnout ; Engagement; Sport and LifeSkill Development; Rugby Research: Psychological Issues
Work: 64 3 479 8945
Email: ken.hodge@otago.ac.nz

Professor Steve Jackson (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Sport Media; Sport & Alcohol; Globalisation; National Identity ; Sport MegaEvents; Sports Policy
Work: 64 3 479 8943
Email: steve.jackson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Brent Lovelock (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Wildlife tourism (particularly hunting and fishing); Outdoor recreation; Tourism and conservation; Tourism and ethics/politics; Marine and island tourism
Work: 64 3 479 8069
Email: brent.lovelock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Sam (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Sport policy; Sport and government; Free-to-air sport broadcasting policy; Local government and stadium politics
Work: 64 3 479 8398 | Home: 64 3 455 7651
Email: mike.sam@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sally Shaw (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Women in sport; Homophobia and inclusion policies in sport organisations; Leadership; Sport and recreation management; Sport mega events; Organisational governance and funding
Work: 64 3 479 5037 | Mobile: 64 21 1887 567
Email: sally.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anna Thompson (Tourism, Centre for Recreation Research, Otago Business School)

Ecotourism, adventure tourism operations; Indigenous tourism; Recreation and outdoor education; Risk management; Protected natural area management; Environmental certification systems; Tourism entrepreneurship; Visitor interpretation
Work: 64 3 479 8057
Email: anna.thompson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz