Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Physical Activity & Sport Other

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Phil Handcock (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Exercise prescription; Injury rehabilitation and return to play; Concussion; Strength and conditioning; Fitness testing; Professionalism; exercise, strength and conditioning
Work: 64 3 479 5025
Email: phil.handcock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ramakrishnan Mani (School of Physiotherapy)

Biopsychosocial model of pain- chronic pain; Pain neurosciences: Brain and spinal cord mechanisms in chronic pain (neuroplasticity, and psychosocial factors) ; Pain mechanisms; Pain education ; Pain curriculum ; Predictors of musculoskeletal pain/disability- longitudinal studies ; Sedentary behaviour and physical activity in chronic health conditions including pain
Work: 64 3 479 3485
Email: ramakrishnan.mani@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kim Meredith-Jones (Medicine)

Bone and body composition assessment in children and adults; Physical activity
Work: 64 3 470 9126
Email: kim.meredith-jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Meredith Peddie (Human Nutrition)

Sedentary behaviour; Effects of breaking sedentary behaviour on postprandial metabolism
Work: 64 3 479 8157 | Mobile: 64 21 152 2274
Email: meredith.peddie@otago.ac.nz

Professor Poia Rewi (Te Tumu, School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Maori performing Arts (kapa haka, oratory); Maori Language; Maori participation in Sport and Physical Activity; Maori culture
Work: 64 3 479 7219 | Home: 64 3 488 5464
Email: poia.rewi@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michelle Schaaf (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Diaspora; Identity; Pacific; Netball; Gender; Body; Culture; Physical activity; Education
Work: 64 3 479 8805 | Mobile: 64 21 0273 8636
Email: michelle.schaaf@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz