Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Brain, Learning and Memory

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Wickliffe Abraham (Psychology)

Learning and memory - neural mechanisms; Nervous system plasticity; Mechanisms of Alzheimer's disease
Work: 64 3 479 7648
Email: cabraham@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Brent Alsop (Psychology)

Mathematical models of animal choice behaviour and signal detection
Work: 64 3 479 7615
Email: balsop@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor David Bilkey (Psychology)

Cognitive neuroscience; Memory and learning - biological basis; Animal navigation; Schizophrenia (neurobiological aspects)
Work: 64 3 479 7644
Email: psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Harlene Hayne

Children's memory development; Children's testimony; Cognitive development during infancy and early childhood; Development of brain and behaviour; Interviewing children in clinical and legal contexts; Adolescence
Work: 64 3 479 8253
Email: hayne@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Brian Hyland (Physiology)

Brain reward systems; Brain mechanisms for movement control; Research into treatments for Parkinson's disease
Work: 64 3 479 7342
Email: brian.hyland@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Christine Jasoni (Anatomy)

Brain and neuroendocrine development; Axon growth and regeneration; Real-time imaging of living cells; Neuroinformatics
Work: 64 3 479 3071
Email: christine.jasoni@otago.ac.nz

Professor Neil McNaughton (Psychology)

Anti-anxiety drugs; Learning and memory; Amnesia; Emotion
Work: 64 3 479 7634
Email: nmcn@psy.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Janice Murray (Psychology)

Face recognition; Age-related changes in perception of emotion in faces; Visual attention
Work: 64 3 479 8353
Email: jmur@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor David O'Hare (Psychology)

Human factors and ergonomics; Aviation human factors; Skill development and expertise; Decision making
Work: 64 3 479 7643
Email: ohare@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Elaine Reese (Psychology)

Children's literacy; Children's memory; Children's language
Work: 64 3 479 8441
Email: ereese@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor John Reynolds (Anatomy)

Learning and memory mechanisms in the basal ganglia and cortex in the mammalian brain; Normal and disordered synaptic mechanisms in Parkinson's disease and stroke
Work: 64 3 479 5781
Email: john.reynolds@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jon Shemmell (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Cortical plasticity; Stroke; Transcranial magnetic stimulation
Work: 64 3 479 8388
Email: jon.shemmell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Geoffrey White (Psychology)

Human memory; Memory and discrimination processes; Operant behaviour
Work: 64 3 479 7629
Email: kgwhite@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz