Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Psychology & Psychiatry Other

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Tamlin Conner (Psychology)

Happiness; Wellbeing; Well-being; Emotions; Methodology; Experience sampling; Ambulatory assessment
Work: 64 3 479 7624
Email: tconner@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Sebastian Filep (Tourism, Otago Business School)

Tourist behaviour and positive psychology; happiness and well being
Work: 64 3 479 5403
Email: sebastian.filep@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Glue (Psychological Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Psychopharmacology; Pharmacokinetics; Pharmacodynamics; Clinical Trial Design; Translational Medicine; Clinical Pharmacology
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57367
Email: paul.glue@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Green (School of Pharmacy)

Lay perceptions of medicines - how people think about and make choices on medicine use; Direct to consumer advertising of medicines; Health behaviour change; Health seeking behaviour; Healthcare communication; Risk-taking behaviour; Sympton experience; Perceptions of Sauvignon blanc wine; Toilet graffiti
Work: 64 3 479 7325
Email: james.green@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jamin Halberstadt (Psychology)

Emotion-cognition interactions; Reasoning and judgement; Social cognition; Evolutionary explanations of averageness and attractiveness; Reasoning and decision making; Intuition; Evolutionary Psychology; Face perception; Experimental design and methodology
Work: 64 3 479 8289
Email: jhalbers@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Dione Healey (Psychology)

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD); Preschoolers; Child Development; Temperament
Work: 64 3 479 7620
Email: dionehealey@psy.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jackie Hunter (Psychology)

Prejudice; Intergroup relations; Self-esteem
Work: 64 3 479 7619
Email: jhunter@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Martin Kennedy (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human genetics and genomics; Psychiatric genetics; Impact of genetics on drug responses (pharmacogenetics)
Work: 64 3 364 0590
Email: martin.kennedy@otago.ac.nz

Dr Richard Linscott (Psychology)

Schizophrenia; Schizotypal personality; Suicide; Clinical psychology; Professional practice; Ethics; Psychological measurement; Neuropsychological impairment; Clinical assessment
Work: 64 3 479 5689
Email: linscott@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Jane Millichamp (Dean's Department, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Brain injury rehabilitation; Clinical/behavioural psychology; Children's issues (impact of abuse, physical punishment on children; childhood and adolescent behaviour problems; impact of divorce/separation on children); Anxiety disorders in childhood and adolescence; Communication skills and clinical interviewing skills training for health professionals ; Family violence – effects on mental health
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58124 | Home: 64 3 479 0230
Email: jane.millichamp@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Janice Murray (Psychology)

Face recognition; Age-related changes in perception of emotion in faces; Visual attention
Work: 64 3 479 8353
Email: jmur@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor David O'Hare (Psychology)

Human factors and ergonomics; Aviation human factors; Skill development and expertise; Decision making
Work: 64 3 479 7643
Email: ohare@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Kate Scott (Psychological Medicine)

Mental-Physical comorbidity (relationship between mental disorders and physical conditions); Health psychology (psychological factors in the development and consequence of physical disease)
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57369
Email: kate.scott@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jeff Smith (College of Education)

Educational assessment; Psychology of aesthetics (how people look at paintings)
Work: 64 3 479 5467
Email: jeffrey.smith@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lois Surgenor (Psychological Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Eating disorders, particularly anorexia nervosa
Work: 64 3 372 0400
Email: lois.surgenor@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nicola Swain (Psychological Medicine)

Pain; Psychological pain treatments ; Child well-being; Child birth ; Tone-deafness; Caregiver violence; Medical communication
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57299 | Home: 64 3 467 2131 | Mobile: 64 21 539 755
Email: nicola.swain-campbell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Gareth Treharne (Psychology)

Health psychology; Stress, coping and health; Adherence to prescribed medications and lifestyle interventions; Rheumatoid arthritis; Sexual health; Sexual orientation and gender identity; Epistemology and research methods; Public involvement in research
Work: 64 3 479 7630
Email: gtreharne@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Calvin Young (Psychology)

Neurophysiology; Cognition; Movement disorders; Neurogenesis; Signal processing; Open source research solutions; Optogenetics; Molecular biology; Machine learning
Work: 64 3 479 7621
Email: calvin.young@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Rachel Zajac (Psychology)

Children's and adults' ability to provide accurate eyewitness testimony, and influencing factors ; Effect of cross-examination on eyewitness testimony; Children's and adults' ability to identify a perpetrator (e.g., through lineups), and influencing factors. ; Effect of discussions with other witnesses on eyewitness accuracy
Work: 64 3 479 3988
Email: rachelz@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz