Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Anthropology/Archaeology

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Chris Brickell (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Historical and contemporary sexuality and masculinity, particularly in New Zealand; Consumer culture
Work: 64 3 479 8184
Email: chris.brickell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Hallie Buckley (Anatomy)

Forensic anthropology; Prehistoric peoples of Pacific; Koiwi tangata; Skeletal pathology
Work: 64 3 479 5775 | Mobile: 64 21 94 00 20

Dr Angela Clark (Faculty of Dentistry)

Forensic anthropology; Human and non-human skeletal remains identification; Forensic biology; Biological anthropology; Skeletal pathology; Forensic bioarchaeology
Work: 64 21 211 5160
Email: angela.clark@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Clarke (Anatomy)

Human origins; Polynesian origins; Plant evolution; Origins of crop plants; Sweet potato/kumara; Ancient DNA
Work: 64 3 479 7376
Email: andrew.clarke@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ruth Fitzgerald (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Medical anthropology; Embodiment; Cultural responses to innovative medical technology; Assisted reproductive techniques; Cross cultural meanings of health; Medical anthropology
Work: 64 3 479 8169
Email: ruth.fitzgerald@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anne Ford (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Pacific prehistory, Archaeology of Aboriginal Australia, Archaeology of Papua New Guinea, Modern human migrations, colonisation, lithic analysis, stone tools, pottery/ceramic studies, archaeometry/sourcing studies, material culture analysis, Neolithic/Bronze Age China
Work: 64 3 471 6148
Email: anne.ford@otago.ac.nz

Mr Dylan Gaffney (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Papua New Guinea archaeology
Work: 64 3 479 8747
Email: dylan.gaffney@otago.ac.nz

Dr Gautam Ghosh (Anthropology and Archaeology)

South Asia(especially India and Bangladesh); Asian-American studies; Cultural anthropology; nationalism; citizenship, diaspora and human rights; globalization and (neo)liberalism; anthropology and history; time and space; religion; social thought and social theory; (post)colonialism; cyberia; music; development; philosophical anthropology
Work: 64 3 479 8744 | Home: 64 3 477 3207 | Mobile: 64 27 555 0852
Email: gautam.ghosh@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sian Halcrow (Anatomy)

Study of human bones from archaeological sites; Health and disease of prehistoric infants and children; Social aspects of childhood in the past; Forensic anthropology; Biological anthropology Bioarchaeology
Work: 64 3 479 5265 | Mobile: 64 272 238 269
Email: sian.halcrow@otago.ac.nz

Professor Charles Higham (Anthropology and Archaeology)

History of Southeast Asia; Archaeology of Southeast Asia
Work: 64 3 479 8750 | Home: 64 3 476 1056
Email: charles.higham@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jacqui Leckie (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Pacific studies; Pacific studies - history, anthropology, gender; Fiji - politics, gender, ethnicity, mental health, labour and work; Immigration and ethnicity in New Zealand (especially Indian)
Work: 64 3 479 8760 | Home: 64 3 471 0979
Email: jacqui.leckie@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ian Smith (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Archaeology of the Modern World, in particular the study of cross-cultural engagement; Archaeology of New Zealand, in particular the period since Pakeha settlement; Human impacts on past marine and terrestrial ecosystems
Work: 64 3 479 8752
Email: ian.smith@otago.ac.nz

Professor Glenn Summerhayes (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Archaeology of the western Pacific, in particular Papua New Guinea; Archaeology of East and Southeast Asia
Work: 64 3 479 8399
Email: glenn.summerhayes@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tim Thomas (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Solomon Islands; Archaeology and historical anthropology of Oceania; Material culture; Socio-cultural landscapes; Exchange; Cross-cultural contact; Colonisation; Human diversity
Work: 64 3 479 8790
Email: tim.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Walter (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Archaeology; Ethno-archaeology; History of archaeological methods and theory; Pacific material culture; Pacific prehistory and archaeology; New Zealand archaeology and prehistory; Polynesian archaeology and prehistory; Melanesian archaeology and prehistory; Pacific archaeology and prehistory; New Zealand and Pacific colonisation; New Zealand and Pacific material culture
Work: 64 3 479 8754
Email: richard.walter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Susan Wardell (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Death; Burnout; Emotion; Youth Work; Mental health; Religion
Work: 64 3 479 8790 | Mobile: 64 27 600 3022
Email: susan.wardell@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz