Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Child and Youth

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Claire Freeman (Geography)

Planning and children's use of and relationship to the environment; Planning for nature, especially urban nature; Planning for sustainable development and communities; Planning for sustainability
Work: 64 3 479 8785
Email: cf@geography.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Anita Gibbs (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Criminal justice; Home Detention; Research methods in social work; Inter-country adoption
Work: 64 3 479 5677
Email: anita.gibbs@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mark Henaghan (Faculty of Law)

Medico-legal disputes involving children; Children in the criminal courts; Family law - property, children, marriage; Same sex unions; Adoption; Violence in the home; Child abuse; Child support and maintenance; Relationship property; Children's rights; Human Genome law - genetic medicine and law; Artificial reproductive law
Work: 64 3 479 8856 | Mobile: 64 21 422 944
Email: mark.henaghan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Bryndl Hohmann-Marriott (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Families; Parenting; Fathers; Demography; Fertility; Marriage; Divorce; Relationships
Work: 64 3 479 8753
Email: bryndl.hohmann-marriott@otago.ac.nz

Ms Emily Keddell (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Social policy, specifically policy affecting children and families, including tax/benefit policies, child protection and poverty issues.; Social Work education and research issues.; Multiple ethnic identities or multiculturalism.
Work: 64 3 479 5867
Email: emily.keddell@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Karen Nairn (College of Education)

Gender, sexuality, 'race' and cultures of schooling; Secondary and tertiary education practices; Qualitative and action research; Critical social theory; The politics of voice; Feminist issues in education; Youth issues
Work: 64 3 479 8619
Email: karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Philip Pattemore (Paediatrics, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Asthma; Cystic fibrosis; Paediatrics; Respiratory paediatrics; Passive smoking and child health
Work: 64 3 364 0734
Email: philip.pattemore@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Nicola Taylor (Centre for Research on Children and Families)

Child and family law; Children's issues
Work: 64 9 373 9717
Email: nicola.taylor@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz