Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Gender and Women's Issues

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Chris Brickell (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Historical and contemporary sexuality and masculinity, particularly in New Zealand; Consumer culture
Work: 64 3 479 8184
Email: chris.brickell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Barbara Brookes (History)

New Zealand social history; 19th and 20th-century gender relations in New Zealand; History of birth control and abortion in New Zealand and Britain in the 19th and 20th centuries; History of Medicine in the 19th and 20th centuries
Work: 64 3 479 8608
Email: barbara.brookes@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Annabel Cooper (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Gender in New Zealand; Gender and poverty; Autobiography and difference; Gender and war
Work: 64 3 479 8939
Email: annabel.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Dr Carla Lam (Politics)

Political theory, especially contemporary feminist theory, materialisms, nature/nurture debates, reproductive politics especially regarding health and human rights, new reproductive issues, bioethics and gender
Work: 64 3 479 8242 | Mobile: 64 21 073 0695
Email: carla.lam@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Karen Nairn (College of Education)

Gender, sexuality, 'race' and cultures of schooling; Secondary and tertiary education practices; Qualitative and action research; Critical social theory; The politics of voice; Feminist issues in education; Youth issues
Work: 64 3 479 8619
Email: karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Overell (Media, Film and Communication)

Cultural studies; Popular music; Japanese studies; Masculinities; Asian studies; Gender studies; Cultural geography
Work: 64 3 479 5723
Email: rosemary.overell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lesley Procter (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Gender and subjectivity particularly the interfaces between gender, identity in:; * schooling; * advertising (especially alcohol advertising); * youth culture(s); * "Second Life" and other Multiple User Domain "games."; Feminist theory(ies); Contemporary social theory
Work: 64 3 479 8745
Email: lesley.procter@otago.ac.nz

Professor Hilary Radner (History and Art History )

Contemporary Hollywood film; French cinema; The woman's film; Popular culture, including fashion, for women; Second wave feminism and popular culture; Gender and visual culture
Work: 64 3 479 3987 | Mobile: 64 21 215 3626

Dr Holly Randell-Moon (Media, Film and Communication)

Media; Politics; Religion; Race; Racism; Neoliberalism; Gender; Sexuality; Whiteness; Television studies; Feminism; Monarchy; Secularism; Creative cities; Smart cities; City branding; Digital cities
Work: 64 3 479 3724
Email: holly.randell-moon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca Stringer (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Feminist politics and theory; Gendered inequality in society; Gender and violence; Concepts of victimization and victimhood; Critical victimology and victim politics; Nietzsche – biography and philosophy
Email: rebecca.stringer@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Angela Wanhalla (History and Art History)

New Zealand History; Maori history; Gender history; Colonialism; Intermarriage
Work: 64 3 479 8462
Email: angela.wanhalla@otago.ac.nz

Dr Yuki Watanabe (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Gender roles in mass media, contemporary Japan, and computer-mediated communication
Work: 64 3 479 5413 | Mobile: 64 22 305 2900
Email: yuki.watanabe@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz