Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Arthritis/Rheumatology

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Haxby Abbott (Orthopaedic Surgery, Surgical Sciences)

Osteoarthritis: hip and knee; Low back pain; Heel pain/'plantar fasciitis'/'tibialis posterior tendonitis'; 'Tennis elbow'/lateral elbow pain; Limited prescribing authority; Accuracy of physiotherapists' clinical examination and diagnosis; Effectiveness of physiotherapy for musculoskeletal conditions
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58615 | Mobile: 64 27 289 0863
Email: haxby.abbott@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Bahn (Physiology)

Transport physiology; Urate; Gout; Prostate cancer; Kidney physiology; Gastrointestinal physiology
Work: 64 3 479 7314 | Mobile: 64 21 2106 867
Email: andrew.bahn@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Andrew Harrison (Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Arthritis; Rheumatology; Medicines for arthritis; Gout; Access to treatment for rheumatic disease; Rheumatology service delivery
Work: 64 4 566 6999 | Mobile: 64 27 220 5064
Email: andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paul Hessian (Medicine)

Inflammatory diseases; Gene expression in inflammation; Tissue destruction and metalloproteinases; Toll-like receptor-9 in rheumatoid arthritis; Cell motility and adhesion; S100 calcium-binding proteins; Phagocytic cells; Arthritis; Rheumatoid nodules
Work: 64 3 470 9103
Email: paul.hessian@otago.ac.nz

Professor Lisa Stamp (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Gout; Arthritis
Work: 64 3 364 0253
Email: lisa.stamp@cdhb.health.nz

Associate Professor Simon Stebbings (Medicine)

Arthritis research; Alternative and complementary medicine (including yoga and acupuncture)
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58789
Email: simon.stebbings@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor William Taylor (Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Clinical epidemiology; Arthritis; Health status measurement; Gout
Work: 64 4 806 1801
Email: will.taylor@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz