Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Social Services/Poverty

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Amanda Barusch (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Aging and the elderly; Interpersonal relationships in later life; Social policy generally and as related to older adults ; Poverty
Work: 64 3 479 5479 or 7951 (messages)
Email: amanda.barusch@otago.ac.nz

Professor Peter Crampton

Deprivation and health; Poverty; Primary health care policy; Health care funding
Work: 64 3 479 7413
Email: peter.crampton@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Anita Gibbs (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Criminal justice; Home Detention; Research methods in social work; Inter-country adoption
Work: 64 3 479 5677
Email: anita.gibbs@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Housing and health; Social and economic determinants of health; Sustainable cities
Work: 64 4 918 6047 | Mobile: 64 27 220 1620
Email: philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Ms Emily Keddell (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Social policy, specifically policy affecting children and families, including tax/benefit policies, child protection and poverty issues.; Social Work education and research issues.; Multiple ethnic identities or multiculturalism.
Work: 64 3 479 5867
Email: emily.keddell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Peter Walker (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Organisation analysis within the social services; Colonialism; Community development; Community law centres; Community social service organisations
Work: 64 3 479 7651
Email: peter.walker@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz