Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Society & Societal Issues Other

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Antonie Alm (Languages and Cultures)

Second Language Acquisition; Web 2.0 based language learning (Social Networking Sites, Blogs, Podcasts); Sociocultural Theory
Work: 64 3 479 8690
Email: antonie.alm@otago.ac.nz

Professor Amanda Barusch (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Aging and the elderly; Interpersonal relationships in later life; Social policy generally and as related to older adults ; Poverty
Work: 64 3 479 5479 or 7951 (messages)
Email: amanda.barusch@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lyn Carter (Te Tumu - School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Maori and Indigenous development; Cultural landscape and identity; Identity politics; Social impact of climate change
Work: 64 3 479 3049
Email: lynette.carter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Marcelle Dawson (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Social movements; Protest and popular resistance; Student activism; Social justice; Contentious politics; South Africa
Work: 64 3 479 8113
Email: marcelle.dawson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Claire Freeman (Geography)

Planning and children's use of and relationship to the environment; Planning for nature, especially urban nature; Planning for sustainable development and communities; Planning for sustainability
Work: 64 3 479 8785
Email: cf@geography.otago.ac.nz

Dr Bryndl Hohmann-Marriott (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Families; Parenting; Fathers; Demography; Fertility; Marriage; Divorce; Relationships
Work: 64 3 479 8753
Email: bryndl.hohmann-marriott@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Jackson (National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies)

Terrorism; War; Afghanistan; United Nations; American foreign policy; Peace; Nonviolence
Work: 64 3 471 6461 | Home: 03 552 1136 | Mobile: 64 221 877 196
Email: richard.jackson@otago.ac.nz

Dr SungYong Lee (National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies)

Conflict resolution; Post-conflict reconstruction; Peacebuilding; Local communities; Cambodia; Southeast Asia; Northeast Asia; South Korea
Work: 64 3 479 4547
Email: sungyong.lee@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katharine Legun (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

sociology of agriculture, apple (fruit) production, plant patents, food systems, environmental sociology, environmental policy, social sustainability, food industries, science and technology studies
Work: 64 3 479 7666
Email: katharine.legun@otago.ac.nz

Dr Miranda Mirosa (Food Science)

Food loss and food waste (metrics, policy, behaviours, ethics, innovation); Food security; Consumer behaviour and food choice; Cross cultural research on food preferences; Food safety and consumers’ perceptions of risk; Sustainable food consumption; The impact of food choice on consumers' health and wellness; Consumer perception and high value nutrition; Foodservice sustainability
Work: 64 3 479 7953
Email: miranda.mirosa@otago.ac.nz

Dr Greg Rawlings (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Globalization; Tax havens; Offshore finance; Offshore finance centres; Money laundering; Citizenship; Nationality; Decolonisation; Vanuatu; Pacific
Work: 64 3 479 4905
Email: greg.rawlings@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kirsten Robertson (Marketing, Otago Business School)

Social norms marketing; Violence and advertising; Language of real estate advertising ; Behaviour, attitudes, perceptions; Social psychology
Work: 64 3 479 7694
Email: kirsten.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Shaw (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Population screening; Transport and health; Environmental epidemiology; Social epidemiology; Climate change and health
Work: 64 4 918 5321 | Mobile: 64 21 708 211
Email: caroline.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katerina Standish (National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies)

Conflict narratives; Peace education; Cultural violence; Nonviolence
Work: 64 3 479 5194 | Home: 64 22 380 5169
Email: katerina.standish@otago.ac.nz

Dr Patrick Vakaoti (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)

Pacific youth participation; Childhood and youth research; Pacific community development
Work: 64 3 479 3074
Email: patrick.vakaoti@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz