Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Chemistry

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Sally Brooker (Chemistry)

Coordination, macrocyclic and supramolecular chemistry, in particular employing heterocycle-based polydentate ligands and paramagnetic first row transition metal ions; Polymetallic complexes especially dimetallic macrocycles and tetrametallic [2x2] grids; Ligand design and synthesis; Self assembly; Single crystal X-ray structure determinations; Spin crossover; Redox; Guest sensors; “Green” catalysts
Work: 64 3 479 7919
Email: sbrooker@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith Gordon (Chemistry)

Electroluminescent materials; Spectroscopy and modelling of: plastic solar cell materials, conducting polymers, carbon nanotubes, organic light emitting diodes; Analytical spectroscopy and theoretical modelling of pharmaceuticals; Analytical spectroscopy and chemometrics of pharmaceuticals and dairy products
Work: 64 3 479 7599
Email: kgordon@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Kimberly Hageman (Chemistry)

Organic pollutants (including pesticides, PCBs and PAHs) in the environment
Work: 64 3 479 4219
Email: khageman@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Lyall Hanton (Chemistry)

Hazardous chemicals: chemical spills, white powders etc; Inorganic chemistry: properties, dangers and uses of most chemicals; Nanoscience; X-ray crystallography; Science education and teaching
Work: 64 3 479 7918 | Mobile: 64 21 249 7918
Email: lhanton@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith Hunter (Chemistry)

Climate change; Water quality; Environmental and marine chemistry; Marine and freshwater chemistry
Work: 64 3 479 7917 | Home: 64 3 465 7150
Email: keith.hunter@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Larsen (Chemistry)

Organic synthesis; Carbohydrate chemistry; Natural product synthesis; The synthesis of glycolipids
Work: 64 3 479 7816
Email: david.larsen@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nigel Lucas (Chemistry)

Organometallic and organic synthesis; Carbon-rich molecular materials; Supramolecular chemistry; X-ray crystallography
Work: 64 3 479 5377
Email: nlucas@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Stephen Moratti (Chemistry)

Polymers; Plastics; Organic electronics
Work: 64 3 479 7829 | Home: 64 3 467 5584
Email: smoratti@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Professor Nigel Perry (Plant Extracts Research Unit - Chemistry)

Natural products; Organic chemistry; Flavours; Medicinal herbs; Nuclear magnetic resonance Spectroscopy; Analytical chemistry; Gas chromatography; Headspace analyses; Insect attractants; Food colourings; New Zealand native plants; Marine natural products; Liquid chromatography; Mānuka
Work: 64 3 479 8354
Email: nigel.perry@plantandfood.co.nz

Associate Professor Sylvia Sander (Chemistry)

Trace metal speciation and modeling of bioavailability; Trace metal cycling in marine and freshwater systems; Analytical chemistry, especially electrochemical methods; Deep sea hydrothermal vent chemistry
Work: 64 3 479 7844
Email: sylvia.sander@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Claudine Stirling (Chemistry)

Analysis of trace metals and their isotopes with applications in (bio)geochemistry, cosmochemistry and environmental chemistry
Work: 64 3 479 7932
Email: cstirling@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr David Warren (Chemistry)

Infrared spectroscopy; Surface chemistry; Photocatalysis; Fuel cells; Community engagement; Chemistry outreach
Work: 64 3 479 4102
Email: dwarren@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz