Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Physics

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Robert Ballagh (Physics)

Atom radiation processes; Bose-Einstein condensation; Quantum Mechanics; Laser dynamics and nonlinear optics; Computational physics
Work: 64 3 479 7793
Email: ballagh@physics.otago.ac.nz

Dr Florian Beyer (Mathematics and Statistics)

Cosmology; Black holes; Computer simulations; Mathematical physics
Work: 64 3 479 7768
Email: fbeyer@maths.otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Blaikie (Physics)

High-tech manufacturing; Micro- and nano-fabrication; Semiconductors; Electronics; Optics and lasers; Research management
Work: 64 3 479 8513 | Mobile: 64 21 279 8835
Email: richard.blaikie@otago.ac.nz

Professor P. Blair Blakie (Physics)

Computational physics; Numerical Methods; Bose-Einstein condensation; Optical Lattices; Classical Field Theory; Ultra-cold fermi gases
Work: 64 3 479 4114
Email: bblakie@physics.otago.ac.nz

Dr Ashton Bradley (Physics)

Atomic, molecular and optical physics; Quantum mechanics; Superfluids; Quantum vortices; Quantum entanglement
Work: 64 3 479 4121
Email: abradley@physics.otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephen Chen (Physics)

Plasmonics; Quantum optics on rare earth ions
Work: 64 3 479 7794
Email: stephen.chen@otago.ac.nz

Dr Amita Deb (Physics)

Quantum Physics; Atomic Physics; Laser Physics; Light-atom interactions; Atomic Collision Physics; Optical Instrumentation; Ultracold Atoms; Bose-Einstein Condensation | Home: 64 3 479 7794
Email: amita.deb@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tim Divett (Physics)

Geomagnetically induced currents; Space weather effects on technology; Tidal energy; Numerical modelling for fluid mechanics and geomagnetism; Geophysics
Work: 64 3 479 7761
Email: tim.divett@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Colin Fox (Physics)

Bayesian inference; Inverse problems and uncertainty quantification; Building acoustics ; Electronics
Work: 64 3 479 7806
Email: fox@physics.otago.ac.nz

Professor Jorg Frauendiener (Mathematics and Statistics)

General Relativity; Special Relativity; Black Holes; Geometry; Computational Physics
Work: 64 3 479 7770
Email: joergf@maths.otago.ac.nz

Professor David Hutchinson (Physics)

Education outreach; Quantum physics; Photonics; Atomic physics; Education outreach; Research translation; Commercialization of research; Science policy
Work: 64 3 479 5102 | Mobile: 64 21 279 5102
Email: david.hutchinson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Niels Kjaergaard (Physics)

Atomic, molecular and optical physics; Laser physics; Scientometrics
Work: 64 3 479 7786 | Mobile: 64 21 279 786
Email: nl@otago.ac.nz

Professor Pat Langhorne (Physics)

Sea ice in the Arctic and Antarctic; Polar oceans
Work: 64 3 479 7787
Email: pat.langhorne@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jevon Longdell (Physics)

Lasers; Cryogenics; Optical instrumentation; Ultrasound; Quantum mechanics
Work: 64 3 479 4122
Email: jevon@physics.otago.ac.nz

Dr Timothy Molteno (Physics)

Electronics; Autonomous Robotics; High Performance Computing (Supercomputing); Programmable Logic; Electrosensory Navigation in Sharks
Work: 64 3 479 7752
Email: tim@physics.otago.ac.nz

Professor Craig Rodger (Physics)

Space weather; Van Allen Radiation Belts; Sun-Earth coupling; Near-Earth space and ionosphere; Long range lightning detection; Aurora; High altitude lightning (e.g. red sprites); Electromagnetic remote sensing techniques; Impacts of geomagnetic storms on power grids
Work: 64 3 479 4120
Email: crodger@physics.otago.ac.nz

Dr Harald Schwefel (Physics)

Optical resonators; THz radiation; nonlinear optics; quantum optics; lasers; light sources
Work: 64 3 479 7754
Email: harald.schwefel@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz