Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Mathematics and Statistics

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Boris Baeumer (Mathematics and Statistics)

Modelling; Probability; Random Fractals; Anomalous Diffusion; Differential Equations
Work: 64 3 479 7763
Email: bbaeumer@maths.otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Barker (Mathematics and Statistics)

Statistics in Sport and Exercise Science; Ecological statistics; Mark-recapture models; Bayesian inference; Probability
Work: 64 3 479 7756 | Home: 64 3 467 9390
Email: rbarker@maths.otago.ac.nz

Dr Florian Beyer (Mathematics and Statistics)

Cosmology; Black holes; Computer simulations; Mathematical physics
Work: 64 3 479 7768
Email: fbeyer@maths.otago.ac.nz

Professor Jorg Frauendiener (Mathematics and Statistics)

General Relativity; Special Relativity; Black Holes; Geometry; Computational Physics
Work: 64 3 479 7770
Email: joergf@maths.otago.ac.nz

Mr Andrew Gray (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Biostatistics; Interpretation of study results; Strengths and weakness of studies; Randomised controlled trials; Observational studies (longitudinal, case-control, and cohort studies); Systematic reviews and meta-analyses; Statistics in nutrition studies; Statistics in public health studies
Work: 64 3 479 7235
Email: andrew.gray@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mike Hendy (Mathematics and Statistics)

Evolution; Phylogenetics;
Work: 64 3 479 5571
Email: mhendy@maths.otago.ac.nz

Dr Fabien Montiel (Mathematics and Statistics)

Ocean waves interactions with sea ice, Marginal ice zone, Wave scattering phenomena, Wave theory
Work: 64 3 479 4567
Email: fmontiel@maths.otago.ac.nz

Dr Ari Samaranayaka (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Biostatistics; Statistical modelling
Work: 64 3 479 7168
Email: ari.samaranayaka@otago.ac.nz

Dr Matthew Schofield (Mathematics and Statistics)

Statistics; Ecological statistics; Bayesian inference; Probability
Work: 64 3 479 7779
Email: matthew.schofield@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Stanley (University of Otago, Wellington)

Study design in health sciences; Biostatistics; Public interpretation of scientific results
Work: 64 4 918 6044
Email: james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ting Wang (Mathematics and Statistics)

Stochastic Processes, especially in geophysics; Statistical seismology; Hidden Markov models and their applications
Work: 64 3 479 7773
Email: ting.wang@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz