Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Dentistry/Oral Health

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Lee Adam (Faculty of Dentistry)

Plagiarism; Academic integrity; Dental education; Evaluating and improving teaching; Qualitative research methodologies
Work: 64 3 479 7476
Email: lee.adam@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lavanya Ajay Sharma (Anatomy)

Prosthodontics; Biomaterials; Regenerative dentistry
Work: 64 3 479 5182
Email: lavanya.ajay-sharma@otago.ac.nz

Dr Vivienne Anderson (Higher Education Development Centre)

Internationalisation; International education; Qualitative research methodologies; Dental education
Work: 64 3 479 5360
Email: vivienne.anderson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Vincent Bennani (Oral Rehabilitation)

Cosmetic Dentistry; Dentist specialised in crown  bridges and implants
Work: 64 3 479 7061
Email: vincent.bennani@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jonathan Broadbent (Oral Rehabilitation - Faculty of Dentistry)

Dental epidemiology; Tooth decay
Work: 64 3 479 7879
Email: jonathan.broadbent@otago.ac.nz

Professor John Broughton (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Oranga Niho (Dental Health)
Work: 64 3 479 7639
Email: john.broughton@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Brunton (Faculty of Dentistry)

Dentistry; Prosthodontics; Primary dental care; Clinical trials; Operative dentistry; Cariology; Dental materials
Work: 64 3 479 7041
Email: paul.brunton@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Cannon (Oral Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Antifungal action; Mechanisms of antifungal resistance; Molecular biology; Molecular genetics of fungi; Physiology and biochemistry of yeast growth; Microbial colonisation; Antimicrobial drug discovery; Oral microbiology; Microbial adhesion
Work: 64 3 479 7081 | Mobile: 64 21 279 7081
Email: richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Chandler (School of Dentistry)

Root canal treatment (endodontics); Diagnosis in dentistry; Dental injuries
Work: 64 3 479 7124
Email: nick.chandler@dent.otago.ac.nz

Professor Bernadette Drummond (Oral Sciences - Faculty of Dentistry)

Paediatric Dentistry - provision of care, outcomes; Paediatric Dentistry - dental materials success; Cariology (study of risk factors for dental decay); Oral health related quality-of-life outcomes in children and young adults
Work: 64 3 479 7128
Email: bernadette.drummond@otago.ac.nz

Professor Warwick Duncan (Oral Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Broken-mouth periodontal (gum) disease in sheep; Titanium dental implants in sheep; Periodontal (gum) disease in humans; Dental implants in humans; Development of diagnostic devices for dentistry; In vitro testing of novel oral medications for gum diseases; Animal and human clinical trials of novel therapies for gum diseases around teeth and dental implants; Development and testing of novel bone grafting materials and devices in animal models and in human patients; Forensic research, in particular forensic odontology
Work: 64 3 479 7110
Email: warwick.duncan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mauro Farella (Sir John Walsh Research Institute)

Orthodontics; Craniofacial growth; Oral physiology; Bruxism; Pain research
Work: 64 3 479 5852
Email: mauro.farella@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nicholas Heng (Oral Sciences - Faculty of Dentistry)

Molecular genetics; Oral microbiology; Bacterial genome sequencing; Next-generation DNA sequencing technology; Streptococcus; Bioinformatics
Work: 64 3 479 9254
Email: nicholas.heng@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mikhail Keniya (Oral Sciences - Faculty of Dentistry )

Molecular biology; Biochemistry; Microbiology; Oxidative stress; Drug resistance; Cell culture; Cloning; Yeast models
Work: 64 3 479 7435 | Mobile: 64 22 183 5243
Email: mikhail.keniya@otago.ac.nz

Dr Carolina Loch (Oral Sciences)

Marine mammals; Form and function of teeth in animals; Evolution and paleontology; Dental hard tissues
Work: 64 3 479 7093
Email: carolina.loch@otago.ac.nz

Dr Haizal Mohd Hussaini (Oral Diagnostic and Surgical Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Oral cancer and cancer immunology; Oral cancer metastasis particularly cervical lymph nodes metastasis; Oral cancer spread and angiogenesis; Routine diagnostic oral pathology service
Work: 64 3 479 7046 | Mobile: 64 21 021 31222
Email: haizal.mh@otago.ac.nz

Mr Brynley Paul Pearce (Oral Rehabilitation, Faculty of Dentistry)

Dental Education ; Clinical Dental Technology
Work: 64 3 479 7358 | Mobile: 64 27 695 6468
Email: paul.pearce@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alison Rich (Oral Diagnostic and Surgical Sciences)

Diagnostic Oral Pathology; Oral cancer and potentially malignant oral disorders
Work: 64 3 479 5686
Email: alison.rich@otago.ac.nz

Dr Don Schwass (Oral Rehabilitation - Faculty of Dentistry)

Prosthodontics; Cariology; Diagnostic tools for cariology; Treatment of caries with laser
Work: 64 3 479 3722
Email: donald.schwass@otago.ac.nz

Dr Benedict Seo (Faculty of Dentistry)

Oral cancer; Oral pathology; Dental pathology; Oral cancer research
Work: 64 3 479 7046
Email: benedict.seo@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ajay Sharma (Oral Rehabilitation)

Periodontal disease in humans; Surface modification of titanium alloys; Dental implants; Titanium alloy implants in animal model | Mobile: 64 21 261 4113
Email: ajay.sharma@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Chris Sissons (Pathology and Molecular Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Microbiology of dental plaque and other oral microbial biofilms; Oral microbial biofilms and disease (in particular dental caries); Plaque control by antimicrobials and plaque resilience; Research into potential new ways to prevent dental caries; Multiplaque Artificial Mouth as a research tool; Plaque pH control and calcium phosphate dynamics
Work: 64 04 385 5549 | Home: 64 04 973 1027
Email: chris.sissons@otago.ac.nz

Professor Murray Thomson (Oral Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Dental public health; Dental epidemiology; Dental diseases in older people; Oral diseases among older people
Work: 64 3 479 7116 | Mobile: 64 21 279 7116
Email: murray.thomson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Geoffrey Tompkins (Sir John Walsh Research Institute, Faculty of Dentistry)

Bacteriology; Microbiology ; Pathogenic anaerobic bacteria ; Heme acquisition; Innate immunity ; Streptococcus ; Bacteriocin/gene acquisition relationship
Work: 64 3 479 5471
Email: geoffrey.tompkins@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz