Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Film

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Lloyd Davis (Centre for Science Communication, Zoology)

Penguins; Sexual selection and kin selection (birds and mammals); Langurs; Natural History Filmmaking; Science Communication
Work: 64 3 479 7654
Email: adelie@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kevin Fisher (Media, Film and Communication)

American Film; New Zealand Film; Documentary film
Work: 64 3 479 8472 | Mobile: 64 21 0583 228
Email: kevin.fisher@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Catherine Fowler (Media, Film and Communication)

Film; European cinema; Belgian and French cinema; Avant garde and experimental films; Films by women; Film and art
Work: 64 3 479 8615
Email: catherine.fowler@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alistair Fox (English)

Contemporary New Zealand literature and culture (including film); Postcolonial literature; Theory of literary and cinematic representation; Early Modern English literature ; Renaissance humanism ; Literature and politics in the Reformation period;
Work: 64 3 479 6830
Email: alistair.fox@otago.ac.nz

Dr Cecilia Novero (Languages and Cultures)

Contemporary German and European film; Literature of 1970s East Germany; Avant-garde aesthetics in Europe; Cultural discourse of food in Europe in the 19th and 20th centuries ; Animal art
Work: 64 3 479 8694
Email: cecilia.novero@otago.ac.nz

Professor Hilary Radner (History and Art History )

Contemporary Hollywood film; French cinema; The woman's film; Popular culture, including fashion, for women; Second wave feminism and popular culture; Gender and visual culture
Work: 64 3 479 3987 | Mobile: 64 21 215 3626

Dr Paul Ramaeker (Media, Film and Communication)

Film History; American cinema; International cinema; Film industry; Film genres; Film authorship; Film aesthetics; Contemporary cinema
Work: 64 3 479 8646
Email: paul.ramaeker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rochelle Simmons (English)

English Literature: Contemporary Fiction (including American, British and Canadian); Literature and Film; Literature and the Visual; John Berger, Michael Ondaatje; New Zealand Cinema: City and Suburb in New Zealand Film; Jane Campion, Lee Tamahori
Work: 64 3 479 7743 | Home: 64 3 466 7928
Email: rochelle.simmons@otago.ac.nz

Dr Davinia Thornley (Media, Film and Communication)

Audience/reception studies; Film festival studies; Film adaptation; Cultural theory; Indigenous media; New Zealand/national cinema
Work: 64 3 479 4182
Email: davinia.thornley@otago.ac.nz

Professor Evelyn Tribble (English)

Shakespeare; Shakespeare and film; Sound and film; Memory and literature
Work: 64 3 479 5799
Email: evelyn.tribble@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Paola Voci (Languages and Cultures)

Contemporary China: Chinese language, Chinese culture, Chinese digital cultures; Film and media studies and visual culture; New media (DV, blogs, webcast videos, cellphone films) in contemporary China; Media of the Chinese diaspora;
Work: 64 3 479 5994
Email: paola.voci@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz