Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Philosophy

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Colin Cheyne (Philosophy)

Epistemology (Theory of Knowledge); Metaphysics (Truth and Reality); Philosophy of mathematics; Logic and philosophy of logic
Email: colin.cheyne@otago.ac.nz

Professor Greg Dawes (Philosophy)

Philosophy of Religion; Science and Religion; Creationism and Intelligent Design; Religion and Magic; Contemporary Roman Catholicism
Work: 64 3 479 5232 | Home: 64 3 464 0446 | Mobile: 64 21 0273 1359
Email: gregory.dawes@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lisa Ellis (Philosophy)

Political philosophy; Democratic theory; Environmental political thought; Environmental philosophy; Species conservation policy; Immanuel Kant; German social and political philosophy; Social contract theory
Work: 64 3 479 8727
Email: lisa.ellis@otago.ac.nz

Professor Grant Gillett (Bioethics Centre)

Stem cells; End of life issues; Continental philosophy; Mind and brain; The human soul
Work: 64 3 471 6127
Email: grant.gillett@otago.ac.nz

Dr Constantin Grigorut (Languages and Cultures)

Intertextual Theory; Philosophy and Literature; Corpus of expertise; Twentieth Century French literature - modern and postmodern novels and theatre
Work: 64 3 479 8701
Email: constantin.grigorut@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor James MacLaurin (Philosophy)

Philosophy of science; Philosophy of biology
Work: 64 3 479 8719
Email: james.maclaurin@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alex Miller (Philosophy)

Philosophy; Ethics; Scottish politics and culture
Work: 64 3 479 8720
Email: alex.miller@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Andrew Moore (Philosophy)

Ethics; Applied and professional ethics; Bioethics; Political philosophy; Ethics and public policy
Work: 64 3 479 8729
Email: andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Alan Musgrave (Philosophy)

Philosophy and history of science; Theory of knowledge
Work: 64 3 479 8723 | Home: 64 3 453 0485
Email: alan.musgrave@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Charles Pigden (Philosophy)

History of Philosophy (Hobbes, Hume, the Scottish Enlightenment, Nietzsche, Bertrand Russell, G.E. Moore the history of New Zealand Philosophy); Social Philosophy (Conspiracy Theories/Milgram experiments); Moral Philosophy (especially meta-ethics, the Is/Ought question, the naturalistic fallacy, the error theory, Russell's ethics, the ethics of climate change); Philosophy of Language and Logic (analytic/synthetic distinction, theories of meaning); Philosophy of Mathematics (the existence of numbers); Metaphysics (negative facts); Philosophy and Literature (Shakespeare, Wilde, Laclos, Austen, Dostoevsky); Recent New Zealand History (Rise and Fall of the Alliance Party)
Work: 64 3 479 8728
Email: charles.pigden@otago.ac.nz

Dr Zach Weber (Philosophy)

Logic; Contradictions; Proofs; Truth
Work: 64 3 479 8858
Email: zach.weber@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz