Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Law - General/Other

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Rex Ahdar (Law)

Competition law; Contract law; Religious freedom; Church and State; Sports law
Work: 64 3 479 8842
Email: rex.ahdar@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Barry Allan (Faculty of Law)

Consumer Law; Credit Law; Negligence; Defamation; Civil Procedure; Commercial Law; Secured Transactions; Contract Law
Work: 64 3 479 8830 | Mobile: 64 22 658 9984
Email: barry.allan@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Donna Buckingham (Faculty of Law)

Computer-aided instruction, Computer assisted legal retrieval, Law of Evidence, Legal Information Systems, Statutory interpretation
Work: 64 3 479 8863
Email: donna.buckingham@otago.ac.nz

Mr Simon Connell (Faculty of Law)

Contract Law; Contract Interpretation; Tort Law; Accident Compensation (ACC)
Work: 64 3 479 3781
Email: simon.connell@otago.ac.nz

Professor John Dawson (Law)

Treaty of Waitangi law; Crime and psychiatry; Health information law; Mental health law; Personal guardianship
Work: 64 3 479 8909
Email: john.dawson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Colin Gavaghan (Centre for Emerging Technologies, Faculty of Law)

Medical law and ethics; Regulation of reproductive and genetic technologies; Neurolaw
Work: 64 3 479 8852 | Mobile: 64 27 367 3572
Email: colin.gavaghan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alan Geare (Management, Otago Business School)

Employment Law; Employment Relations; Performance Management; Stress; Human Resource Management; Mediation; Adjudication; Productivity
Work: 64 3 479 8127
Email: alan.geare@otago.ac.nz

Professor Andrew Geddis (Faculty of Law)

Political Party funding; Election law; Election law; Constitutional Law
Work: 64 3 479 8864
Email: andrew.geddis@otago.ac.nz

Dr John Guthrie (Marketing, Otago Business School)

Retailing; Retail crime and loss prevention; Sports marketing; Sales, selling and sales management
Work: 64 3 479 8159
Email: john.guthrie@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mark Henaghan (Faculty of Law)

Medico-legal disputes involving children; Children in the criminal courts; Family law - property, children, marriage; Same sex unions; Adoption; Violence in the home; Child abuse; Child support and maintenance; Relationship property; Children's rights; Human Genome law - genetic medicine and law; Artificial reproductive law; Child abduction; Surrogacy; Criminal law; Sentencing; The role of judges
Work: 64 3 479 8856 | Mobile: 64 21 422 944
Email: mark.henaghan@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Selene Mize (Law)

Legal ethics; Civil liberties - privacy, discrimination, harassment, protest, censorship, and others (excluding criminal procedure); Media law - everything except defamation and intellectual property; Client counselling; Law and psychology (decision-making, group behaviour, but not abnormal psychology); Negotiation, mediation and dispute resolution
Work: 64 3 479 8853 | Home: 64 3 487 6600
Email: selene.mize@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nicola Peart (Law)

Bioethics and health law; Family property and succession
Work: 64 3 479 8859
Email: nicola.peart@otago.ac.nz

Mr Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere (Faculty of Law)

Law (general); Constitutional law; Parliamentary issues; Electoral issues; Major judicial decisions; Law reform issues; Animal Law; Animal Welfare; Animal Rights
Work: 64 3 479 8850 | Mobile: 64 27 278 2582
Email: marcelo.rodriguez.ferrere@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Roth (Law)

Employment law; Privacy/data protection law; Information law; Law of armed conflict (international humanitarian law); Human rights law (New Zealand and international)
Work: 64 3 479 8600
Email: paul.roth@otago.ac.nz

Professor Struan Scott (Faculty of Law)

Banking law; Property law; Law of restitution/unjust enrichment
Work: 64 3 479 8675
Email: struan.scott@otago.ac.nz

Professor Peter Skegg (Law)

Medical Law; Health law; Health care law
Work: 64 3 479 8828 | Home: 64 3 455 8558
Email: peter.skegg@otago.ac.nz

Dr Bridgette Toy-Cronin (Faculty of Law)

Access to justice; Justice system reform; Civil justice; Civil procedure; Legal profession | Mobile: 64 21 279 0488
Email: bridgette.toy-cronin@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Rachel Zajac (Psychology)

Children's and adults' ability to provide accurate eyewitness testimony, and influencing factors ; Effect of cross-examination on eyewitness testimony; Children's and adults' ability to identify a perpetrator (e.g., through lineups), and influencing factors. ; Effect of discussions with other witnesses on eyewitness accuracy
Work: 64 3 479 3988
Email: rachelz@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz