Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Religious Studies/Theology

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Rex Ahdar (Law)

Competition law; Contract law; Religious freedom; Church and State; Sports law
Work: 64 3 479 8842
Email: rex.ahdar@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lynne Baab (Theology and Religion)

Christian spiritual practices; Fasting; Sabbath; Listening skills; Midlife; Prayer; Myers-Briggs Type Indicator; Christian congregations; Multi-ethnic congregations
Work: 64 3 479 5358 | Home: 64 3 473 1550
Email: lynne.baab@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Tim Cooper (Theology and Religion)

History of Christianity; Reformation; Puritans; NZ Christianity; English Civil War
Work: 64 3 479 5760
Email: tim.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Professor Greg Dawes (Philosophy)

Philosophy of Religion; Science and Religion; Creationism and Intelligent Design; Religion and Magic; Contemporary Roman Catholicism
Work: 64 3 479 5232 | Home: 64 3 464 0446 | Mobile: 64 21 0273 1359
Email: gregory.dawes@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Harding (Theology & Religion)

Old Testament/Hebrew Bible; Sexuality and the Bible; Dead Sea Scrolls; Ancient Judaism
Work: 64 3 479 5392 | Home: 64 3 453 1956 | Mobile: 64 27 327 8701
Email: james.harding@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Christopher Holmes (Theology and Religion)

Theology; Ethics; The Church; Bible
Work: 64 3 479 5394
Email: christopher.holmes@otago.ac.nz

Professor Murray Rae (Theology and Religion)

General Christian Theology; Theology and Architecture; Christian ethics; Maori engagements with Christianity
Work: 64 3 479 5393 | Home: 64 3 464 0622
Email: murray.rae@otago.ac.nz

Dr Benjamin Schonthal (Theology and Religion)

Religions of Asia: Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam in South/Southeast Asia; Religion, Law and Politics: secularism, state regulation of religion, law and religion, religious rights, multiculturalism, religious diversity, religion and politics, constitutions and religion, law and religion; South/Southeast Asian History: especially Sri Lanka and India
Work: 64 3 479 8795 | Mobile: 64 21 1875 314
Email: ben.schonthal@otago.ac.nz

Dr John Shaver (Theology and Religion)

Religion; Pacific religions; Religion and prejudice; Media and prejudice; Religion and mating/sex; Fiji; Religious change; Religious diversity; Evolution of religion
Work: 03 471 6459
Email: john.shaver@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor John Stenhouse (History)

New Zealand history; Religious history; Science and Religion - Darwinism
Work: 64 3 479 8609
Email: john.stenhouse@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Will Sweetman (Theology and Religion)

Asian religions; Buddhism; Colonialism; Hinduism; History of Christian mission; India; Orientalism; Tamil
Work: 64 3 479 8793 | Mobile: 64 22 027 5921
Email: will.sweetman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rory Sweetman (History)

Irish history ; Irish language ; History of Catholic Church from 1800
Work: 64 3 479 8797 | Home: 64 3 473 0880 | Mobile: 64 27 3385 866
Email: rsweet@ihug.co.nz

Professor David Tombs (Theology and Religion)

Theology and public issues; Religion and violence
Work: 64 3 479 8450 | Mobile: 64 20 444 0042
Email: david.tombs@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Trebilco (Theology and Religion)

The New Testament; Christianity in the First Century; The Historical Jesus; The Apostle Paul; Early Christian Gospels; Early Christianity; Gnosticism; Early Jewish-Christian Relations
Work: 64 3 479 8798 | Home: 64 3 473 9628
Email: paul.trebilco@otago.ac.nz

Dr Derek Woodard-Lehman (Theology and Religion)

Ethics and politics (war, terrorism, bioethics, race and racism, church and state)
Work: 64 4 385 7400 | Mobile: 64 27 334 3138
Email: derek.woodard-lehman@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz