Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Mental Health

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Joanne Baxter (Dunedin School of Medicine)

Maori health; Maori mental health
Work: 64 3 479 7176
Email: joanne.baxter@otago.ac.nz

Ms Julie Burgess-Manning (Psychological Medicin, University of Otago, Wellington)

Family therapy; Child and adolescent mental health
Work: 64 4 918 6511 | Mobile: 64 21 058 4083
Email: julie.burgess-manning@otago.ac.nz

Professor Catherine (Sunny) Collings (Dean, University of Otago, Wellington)

Public health psychiatry; Mental health in primary care; Social psychiatry; Suicide and deliberate self-harm; Population mental health; Inequalities in mental health; Psychotherapies
Work: 64 4 918 5600
Email: sunny.collings@otago.ac.nz

Professor Marie Crowe (Psychological Medicine / Centre for Postgraduate Nursing Studies, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Mental health nursing; Qualitative research methods; Bipolar disorder; Psychotherapy for mood disorders
Work: 64 3 372 6723
Email: marie.crowe@otago.ac.nz

Ms Nandika Currey (University of Otago, Wellington)

Pacific mental health ; Health services research; Organisational sustainability ; Strengths-based approaches ; Suicide prevention ; Culture and mental health
Work: 64 4 806 1498 | Mobile: 64 21 477 387
Email: nandika.currey@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Dowell (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

General Practice; Primary care; Mental health in primary care; Analysis of health practitioner/patient interactions
Work: 64 4 385 5995 | Mobile: 64 21 270 1617
Email: tony.dowell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Christopher Gale (Psychological Medicine)

Evidence based mental health; Psychiatric epidemiology; Anxiety disorders; Psychotic disorders; Phenomenology and experience of psychiatric illness; Aggression in mental health
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57355 | Mobile: 64 21 707 193
Email: chris.gale@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sue Luty (Psychological Medicine , University of Otago, Christchurch)

Psychotherapy (Interpersonal Psychotherapy); Depression; Bipolar Disorder; Perinatal Psychiatry; Women's mental health; Eating Disorders
Work: 64 3 372 6716
Email: sue.luty@otago.ac.nz

Ms Fiona Mathieson (Psychological Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Adult mental health: psychological treatment, with an emphasis on cognitive behaviour therapy
Work: 64 4 385 5541 x 6034
Email: fiona.mathieson@otago.ac.nz

Professor John McMillan (Bioethics Centre)

Ethics; Research ethics; Assisted reproductive technologies; Mental health ethics; End of life issues
Work: 64 3 471 6135 | Mobile: 64 21 279 6123
Email: john.mcmillan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Roger Mulder (Psychological Medicine , University of Otago, Christchurch)

Personality disorders; Temperament and personality; Depression; Alcohol and drug disorders
Work: 64 3 364 0530 extn. 86431
Email: roger.mulder@otago.ac.nz

Dr Shyamala Nada-Raja (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Web-based psychological interventions for mental health; Positive psychology; Self-harm; Suicide; Violence; Youth mental health; Positive development; Problem gambling
Work: 64 3 479 8518
Email: shyamala.nada-raja@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Porter (Psychological Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Depression; Manic Depression/Bipolar affective disorder; Psychopharmacology
Work: 64 3 372 0426 | Mobile: 64 21 262 3615
Email: richard.porter@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Porter (Psychological Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Depression; Bipolar disorder; Neuropsychological impairment; Emotion processing; Psychological treatment of mood disorder; Psychopharmacological treatment of mood disorder; Psychiatric illness in people with intellectual impairment
Work: 64 3 372 6750
Email: richard.porter@otago.ac.nz

Professor Kate Scott (Psychological Medicine)

Mental-Physical comorbidity (relationship between mental disorders and physical conditions); Health psychology (psychological factors in the development and consequence of physical disease)
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57369
Email: kate.scott@otago.ac.nz

Dr Susan Wardell (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Death; Burnout; Emotion; Youth Work; Mental health; Religion
Work: 64 3 479 8790 | Mobile: 64 27 600 3022
Email: susan.wardell@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz