Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Neuroscience

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Wickliffe Abraham (Psychology)

Learning and memory - neural mechanisms; Nervous system plasticity; Mechanisms of Alzheimer's disease
Work: 64 3 479 7648
Email: cabraham@psy.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Greg Anderson (Anatomy)

Reproductive neuroendocrinology
Work: 64 3 479 7320 | Mobile: 64 21 0278 0819
Email: greg.anderson@otago.ac.nz

Dr John Ashton (Pharmacology & Toxicology)

Cannabinoids; Cannabinoid pharmacology; Cerebral ischemia; Endocannabinoid system; Hypoxia-ischemia; Neuroinflammation; Neuropathic pain; Neuropharmacology; Neuroprotection; Pain; Pharmacology
Work: 64 3 479 3040
Email: john.ashton@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lubica Benuskova (Computer Science)

Biologically inspired computing; Dynamics of artificial neural networks
Work: 64 3 479 8587
Email: lubica@cs.otago.ac.nz

Professor David Bilkey (Psychology)

Cognitive neuroscience; Memory and learning - biological basis; Animal navigation; Schizophrenia (neurobiological aspects)
Work: 64 3 479 7644
Email: psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Colin Brown (Physiology)

Oxytocin regulation of reproduction and behaviour; Vasopressin regulation of body fluid balance; Bodyweight regulation
Work: 64 3 479 7354
Email: colin.brown@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca Campbell (Physiology)

Regulation of gonadotropin releasing hormone (GnRH) neurons in fertility
Work: 64 3 479 7343
Email: rebecca.campbell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Dirk De Ridder (Surgical Sciences)

Functional imaging guided invasive and non-invasive neuromodulation of phantom percepts and psychological disorders; Clinical: Skull base surgery (vestibular schwannomas, pituitary surgery), microvascular decompression surgery
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 9337
Email: dirk.deridder@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Barbara Galland (Women's and Children's Health)

Sleep and cardiorespiratory physiology in infants/children; Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and sleep and breathing disorders
Work: 64 3 470 9478 | Home: 64 3 455 7842
Email: barbara.galland@otago.ac.nz

Professor Grant Gillett (Bioethics Centre)

Stem cells; End of life issues; Continental philosophy; Mind and brain; The human soul
Work: 64 3 471 6127
Email: grant.gillett@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Glue (Psychological Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Psychopharmacology; Pharmacokinetics; Pharmacodynamics; Clinical Trial Design; Translational Medicine; Clinical Pharmacology
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57367
Email: paul.glue@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Grattan (Anatomy)

Regulation of body weight; Brain adaptions to pregnancy; Neuroendocrinology; Hormones and the brain; Sex differences in brain function
Work: 64 3 479 7442
Email: david.grattan@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Graeme Hammond-Tooke (Medicine)

Clinical neurology with emphasis on neuromuscular disorders, including muscle and nerve pathology; Functional MRI of the brain
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58361
Email: Graeme.Hammond-Tooke@southerndhb.govt.nz

Dr Phil Heyward (Physiology)

Sense of smell; Olfaction
Work: 64 3 479 7383 | Home: 64 3 453 5822
Email: phil.heyward@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephanie Hughes (Biochemistry)

Gene therapy; Viral vectors; Batten disease; Lysosomal storage
Work: 64 3 479 3761
Email: stephanie.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Professor Brian Hyland (Physiology)

Brain reward systems; Brain mechanisms for movement control; Research into treatments for Parkinson's disease
Work: 64 3 479 7342
Email: brian.hyland@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Christine Jasoni (Anatomy)

Brain and neuroendocrine development; Axon growth and regeneration; Real-time imaging of living cells; Neuroinformatics
Work: 64 3 479 3071
Email: christine.jasoni@otago.ac.nz

Dr Steve Kerr (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Detection and analysis of marine algal toxins; Age-related changes in central neural system function; Biotechnology and instrument design; Neuronal sensitivity to excitotoxins
Work: 64 3 479 9142
Email: steve.kerr@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alistair Knott (Computer Science)

Natural language and the brain; Computational neuroscience; Artificial intelligence; Computational linguistics; Artificial intelligence and society; Ethics of artificial intelligence
Work: 64 3 479 8299
Email: alik@cs.otago.ac.nz

Professor Alison Mercer (Zoology)

Brain and behaviour in honey bees; Behaviour, sensory systems, learning and memory in invertebrates; Honey bees (olfactory pathways and olfactory signals); Invertebrate nervous systems
Work: 64 3 479 7961
Email: alison.mercer@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Janice Murray (Psychology)

Face recognition; Age-related changes in perception of emotion in faces; Visual attention
Work: 64 3 479 8353
Email: jmur@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Ruth Napper (Anatomy)

Effects of alcohol on brain development; Stereology
Work: 64 3 479 7367
Email: ruth.napper@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Michael Paulin (Zoology)

How animals perceive the world (special interest in sharks); How animals navigate and move (special interest in sharks and spiders); Animal-like robots; biomorphic and bio-inspired robots; Bio-inspired or biomimetic electronics (sensors etc); Computer simulation of nervous systems
Work: 64 3 479 7985
Email: mike.paulin@otago.ac.nz

Professor John Reynolds (Anatomy)

Learning and memory mechanisms in the basal ganglia and cortex in the mammalian brain; Normal and disordered synaptic mechanisms in Parkinson's disease and stroke
Work: 64 3 479 5781
Email: john.reynolds@otago.ac.nz

Professor Anthony Robins (Computer Science)

Artificial intelligence; Neural networks; Cognitive science
Work: 64 3 479 8314
Email: anthony@cs.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Philip Sheard (Physiology)

Transmitted light and fluorescence microscopy; Confocal microscopy; Electrophysiology; Immunohistochemistry; Digital imaging
Work: 64 3 479 7045
Email: phil.sheard@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jon Shemmell (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Cortical plasticity; Stroke; Transcranial magnetic stimulation
Work: 64 3 479 8388
Email: jon.shemmell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Smith (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Mechanisms of recovery from neural damage; Plasticity in the vestibular system; Drugs to enhance recovery from brain damage; Mechanisms of Tinnitus; Cannabis and Cannabinoid pharmacology; Biostatistics
Work: 64 3 479 5747
Email: paul.smith@otago.ac.nz

Professor Warren Tate (Biochemistry)

DNA library construction; Gene expression; Protein biochemistry; Protein synthesis; Recombinant DNA technology; Regulation of protein production; RNA synthesis; Genetic modification and society; HIV Therapy; Memory mechanisms
Work: 64 3 479 7864
Email: warren.tate@otago.ac.nz

Professor Barry Taylor (Dunedin School of Medicine)

Child Health; Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS); Sleep disorders in children; Paediatric endocrinology (Growth disorders); Diabetes in Children and Youth; Childhood obesity
Work: 64 3 470 9755 | Mobile: 64 21 616 229
Email: barry.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Dr Alexander Tups (Physiology)

Neuroendocrinology - obesity, diabetes and Alzheimer research
Work: 64 3 479 4862
Email: alexander.tups@otago.ac.nz

Professor Geoffrey White (Psychology)

Human memory; Memory and discrimination processes; Operant behaviour
Work: 64 3 479 7629
Email: kgwhite@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz