Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Music

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Peter Adams (Music)

Conductor and Composer; New Zealand Brass Bands; Youth Orchestras; Music-making opportunities for young people
Work: 64 3 479 8890
Email: peter.adams@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Judy Bellingham (Music)

All aspects of vocal performance; Vocal health and science; Contemporary New Zealand vocal music
Work: 64 3 479 8908
Email: judy.bellingham@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Robert Burns (Music)

British folk music in the 20th century: invented authenticity and heritage, increased popularity as it is rebranded as World Music; 20th century popular music in the United States and the United Kingdom; Bass guitar performance techniques in the jazz, jazz/fusion and rock idioms; Right-wing nationalism in German rock music
Work: 64 3 479 8444
Email: rob.burns@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ian Chapman (Music)

Pop Music; Rock Music ; Image (Iconography); Celebrity
Work: 64 3 479 5012 | Home: 64 3 455 6764 | Mobile: 64 21 270 8666
Email: ian.chapman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Graeme Downes (Music)

Music of Mahler, Shostakovich, Dunedin Sound rock bands
Work: 64 3 479 9778 | Home: 64 3 477 9034
Email: graeme.downes@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor John Drummond (Music)

Cultural history of 20th century music; Mozart; Music education; Music and music history; Cultural policy
Work: 64 3 479 8880
Email: john.drummond@otago.ac.nz

Mr John Egenes (Music)

Music Production in Digital Culture; Music & Internet; Contemporary music performance, writing, recording and technology; Stagecraft; Genres: Folk, folk rock, Americana, country, alt-country, singer/songwriter, bluegrass, rockabilly, rock & roll; Instruments played: acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin, banjo, pedal steel guitar, lap steel, Dobro & Weissenborn guitars, acoustic and electric bass, fiddle, accordion, mandocello, fiddle, Theremin, musical saw.
Work: 64 3 479 8434
Email: john.egenes@otago.ac.nz

Mr Michael Holland (Music)

Music production; Music recording; Sound engineering; Live music and touring; Creative industries; Digital audio formats and technologies; Popular music in Dunedin, NZ
Work: 64 3 470 3554
Email: michael.holland@otago.ac.nz

Professor Henry Johnson (Music)

Ethnomusicology
Work: 64 3 479 8884
Email: henry.johnson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Suzanne Little (Music, Theatre Studies)

performance studies; trauma and violence in performance; framing theory; ethics of representation and witnessing (particularly in verbatim and documentary theatre); performance as research and practice as research; performance design; aspects of actor training; mobilities in performance; repetition and remains in performance
Work: 64 3 479 5084
Email: suzanne.little@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Overell (Media, Film and Communication)

Cultural studies; Popular music; Japanese studies; Masculinities; Asian studies; Gender studies; Cultural geography
Work: 64 3 479 5723
Email: rosemary.overell@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Anthony Ritchie (Music)

Composition; New Zealand classical music; The music of Bela Bartok
Work: 64 3 479 8881 | Home: 64 3 476 2541 | Mobile: 64 21 1504652
Email: anthony.ritchie@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz