Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Genetics

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Chris Brown (Biochemistry)

Genetics; Computer analysis of nucleotide sequences; Translational control of gene expression; Viral gene expression; Bioinformatics; Genomics; RNA; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 5201, 64 3 479 7875
Email: chris.brown@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lynette Brownfield (Biochemistry)

Plant molecular biology; Plant reproduction; Genetically modified plants
Work: 64 3 479 5151
Email: lynette.brownfield@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Clarke (Anatomy)

Human origins; Polynesian origins; Plant evolution; Origins of crop plants; Sweet potato/kumara; Ancient DNA
Work: 64 3 479 7376
Email: andrew.clarke@otago.ac.nz

Professor Peter Dearden (Biochemistry)

Biosecurity / Pest control; Developmental genetics; Evolutionary genetics; Horizontal Gene Transfer; Honey bees
Work: 64 3 479 7832
Email: peter.dearden@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Peter Fineran (Microbiology and Immunology)

Genetics of bacteria; Gene regulation; Molecular biology; Bacteriophage (phage) biology
Work: 64 3 479 7735
Email: peter.fineran@otago.ac.nz

Professor Neil Gemmell (Anatomy)

Evolutionary genetics and genomics; Livestock and human reproduction; Livestock and human health and disease; Control of mammalian reproduction
Work: 64 3 479 6824
Email: neil.gemmell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mike Hendy (Mathematics and Statistics)

Evolution; Phylogenetics;
Work: 64 3 479 5571
Email: mhendy@maths.otago.ac.nz

Professor Iain Lamont (Biochemistry)

Infectious disease; Antibiotic resistance; Gene expression; Pseudomonas; Cystic fibrosis; Genome analysis
Work: 64 3 479 7869, 64 3 479 7847
Email: iain.lamont@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tony Lough (New Zealand Genomics Ltd)

Provision of genomics service delivery to underpin New Zealand research in a range of areas including medicine, agriculture & the environment
Work: 64 3 470 3543 | Mobile: 64 21 0223 8591
Email: tony.lough@nzgenomics.co.nz

Associate Professor Richard MacKnight (Biochemistry)

Plant flowering; Transgenic plants; Plant biotechnology
Work: 64 3 479 5149
Email: richard.macknight@otago.ac.nz

Dr David Orlovich (Botany)

Native mushrooms and toadstools; Mycology (the study of fungi); Evolution of plants and fungi (phylogenetics)
Work: 64 3 479 9060 | Mobile: 64 21 122 7230
Email: david.orlovich@otago.ac.nz

Dr Barry Palmer (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human genetics ; Genetics of Heart Disease; Microbial Genetics
Work: 64 3 364 0543
Email: barry.palmer@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Russell Poulter (Biochemistry)

Fungal genetics; Genomics; Genetics; Genetics of plants; Human genetics
Work: 64 3 479 7856, 64 3 479 7857
Email: russell.poulter@otago.ac.nz

Professor Clive Ronson (Microbiology and Immunology)

General enquiries relating to Genetics and genetics-based research at Otago; Horizontal gene transfer; Genetics of bacteria
Work: 64 3 479 7701
Email: clive.ronson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Hamish Spencer (Zoology)

Population genetics; Eugenics (history); Molluscs (evolution of; native species); Evolution; Genomic Imprinting
Work: 64 3 479 7981
Email: hamish.spencer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Helen Taylor (Anatomy)

Wildlife conservation; Inbreeding and inbreeding depression; Male fertility in birds; Bird reproduction; Kiwi genetics
Work: 64 3 479 7376
Email: helen.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Professor Graham Wallis (Zoology)

Evolution; Speciation; Hybridisation; Population genetics; Conservation genetics; Molecular systematics; Adaptation
Work: 64 3 479 7984 | Home: 64 3 476 1314
Email: g.wallis@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jon Waters (Zoology)

New Zealand natural history ; DNA evolution ; Conservation biology ; Biogeography ; Biodiversity ; Freshwater fish; Marine biology
Work: 64 3 479 5847
Email: jon.waters@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz