Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Antarctica

Clocktower at sunset

Emeritus Professor Alan Cooper (Geology)

Alpine fault plate boundary; Antarctic geology; Mineralogy; Petrology; Carbonatites; Metamorphic rocks of NZ
Work: 64 3 479 7515 | Home: 64 3 453 5381
Email: alan.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Professor Lloyd Davis (Centre for Science Communication, Zoology)

Penguins; Sexual selection and kin selection (birds and mammals); Langurs; Natural History Filmmaking; Science Communication
Work: 64 3 479 7654
Email: adelie@otago.ac.nz

Professor Sean Fitzsimons (Geography)

Glaciers and glaciation; Climate change; Antarctica; Geomorphology; Earth surface processes and landforms
Work: 64 3 479 8786 | Mobile: 64 21 250 0326
Email: sjf@geography.otago.ac.nz

Professor Christina Hulbe (School of Surveying)

Antarctic glaciology
Work: 64 3 479 7613 | Mobile: 64 21 242 1155
Email: christina.hulbe@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Miles Lamare (Marine Science)

Marine invertebrate larval life-histories, ecology and physiology; Antarctic Marine Invertebrate Biology and Ecology; Photo-biology and UV protection in marine invertebrates; Population dynamics and ecology of invertebrates in New Zealand; Fiord marine ecology
Work: 64 3 479 7463 | Home: 64 3 476 1102 | Mobile: 64 21 104 9475
Email: miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz

Professor Pat Langhorne (Physics)

Sea ice in the Arctic and Antarctic; Polar oceans
Work: 64 3 479 7787
Email: pat.langhorne@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Craig Marshall (Biochemistry)

Antarctic marine and terrestrial biology; Cold adaptation, particularly in proteins; Freezing tolerance and freezing avoidance; Antifreeze proteins and how they work; Protein purification; Antarctic history; Oyster and oyster parasite genetics and biochemistry; Heavy metal accumulation in shellfish
Work: 64 3 479 7570 | Home: 64 3 487 9841
Email: craig.marshall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fabien Montiel (Mathematics and Statistics)

Ocean waves interactions with sea ice, Marginal ice zone, Wave scattering phenomena, Wave theory
Work: 64 3 479 4567
Email: fmontiel@maths.otago.ac.nz

Dr Christian Ohneiser (Geology)

Antarctic past climate; Rockmagnetism; Sedimentology; Paleoclimatology; Antarctica; Paleoceanography
Work: 64 3 479 7350 | Mobile: 64 21 343 092
Email: christian.ohneiser@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gary Wilson (Marine Science)

Ocean and climate history; Palaeomagnetism; Sediments and strata; Antarctica's role in global environmental change
Work: 64 3 479 4104 | Mobile: 64 21 731 489
Email: gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz