Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Conservation

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Phil Bishop (Zoology)

Frog biology; Global decline of frog populations; Frog conservation and management ; Member Native Frog Recovery Group ; Co-Chair IUCN Amphibian Specialist Group; Animal communication; Biodiversity; Amphibians
Work: 64 3 479 7990
Email: phil.bishop@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Carolyn Burns (Zoology)

Freshwater ecology; Lakes; Wetlands; Plankton ecology and identification; Water quality; Algal blooms; Microbial ecology; Effects of catchment activities and climate change on lakes; Invasive species in lakes and wetlands; Management and conservation
Work: 64 3 479 7971
Email: carolyn.burns@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gerry Closs (Zoology)

Freshwater ecology; Freshwater fish; Trout; Introduced species; Biosecurity - freshwater; Native fish; Fish migration; Freshwater fish conservation
Work: 64 3 479 7972 | Home: 64 3 476 4014 | Mobile: 64 21 0276 2783
Email: gerry.closs@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alison Cree (Zoology)

Reproductive biology of animals; Reproduction and conservation of New Zealand reptiles; Tuatara (reproduction, nutrition, captive breeding, history of scientific study); Biology of Otago lizards (geckos, skinks)
Work: 64 3 479 7482
Email: alison.cree@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Bruce Robertson (Zoology)

Wildlife management; Conservation of New Zealand native species; Conservation genetics of NZ birds and seals; Kakapo genetic management; The role of animal behaviour in conservation and wildlife management; Sex allocation in birds
Work: 64 3 479 4110
Email: bruce.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Phil Seddon (Zoology)

Ecotourism and management of tourism impacts on wildlife; Threatened species restorations and reintroductions; Penguins, particularly yellow-eyed penguins; Wildlife conservation and nature tourism in the Middle East; Wildlife habitat selection and resource use; Ecology, particularly the spatial ecology of introduced mammalian pests in New Zealand
Work: 64 3 479 7029
Email: philip.seddon@otago.ac.nz

Professor Liz Slooten (Zoology)

Environmental effects of fishing, tourism and pollution; Marine mammals, especially Hector's dolphins and sperm whales; Conservation biology; Population modelling; Marine Conservation
Work: 64 3 479 7980
Email: liz.slooten@otago.ac.nz

Dr Helen Taylor (Anatomy)

Wildlife conservation; Inbreeding and inbreeding depression; Male fertility in birds; Bird reproduction; Kiwi genetics
Work: 64 3 479 7376
Email: helen.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Colin Townsend (Zoology)

Conservation biology; Ecology of communities in streams; Galaxiidae (native fish); General ecology; Impact of land-use practices on stream ecology; Introduced and native stream fish-interactions
Work: 64 3 479 7975
Email: colin.townsend@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Yolanda van Heezik (Zoology)

Wildlife management; Urban ecology; Impact of cats; Conservation biology; Penguin ecology
Work: 64 3 479 4107
Email: yolanda.vanheezik@otago.ac.nz

Professor Graham Wallis (Zoology)

Evolution; Speciation; Hybridisation; Population genetics; Conservation genetics; Molecular systematics; Adaptation
Work: 64 3 479 7984 | Home: 64 3 476 1314
Email: g.wallis@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jon Waters (Zoology)

New Zealand natural history ; DNA evolution ; Conservation biology ; Biogeography ; Biodiversity ; Freshwater fish; Marine biology
Work: 64 3 479 5847
Email: jon.waters@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz