Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Climate

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Jenny Bryant-Tokalau (Te Tumu, School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Fiji; land; poverty; urbanisation; environmental change; climate change
Work: 64 3 471 6946
Email: jenny.bryant-tokalau@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Colin Campbell-Hunt (Centre for Sustainability)

Climate change; New Zealand competitiveness
Work: 64 3 470 3580
Email: colin.campbell-hunt@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Nicolas Cullen (Geography)

Boundary layer meteorology and climatology; Glaciology; Glacier and ice sheet mass balance and climate; Polar and applied meteorology; Tropical glaciology and climatology; Mesoscale numerical modelling and air pollution; Landscape assessment for wind energy; Climate change; Remote sensing
Work: 64 3 479 3069
Email: nicolas.cullen@otago.ac.nz

Professor Sean Fitzsimons (Geography)

Glaciers and glaciation; Climate change; Antarctica; Geomorphology; Earth surface processes and landforms
Work: 64 3 479 8786 | Mobile: 64 21 250 0326
Email: sjf@geography.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Simon Hales (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Air pollution; Climate variability and change; Geographic information systems; Environmental health; Epidemiology
Work: 64 4 918 6483
Email: simon.hales@otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith Hunter (Chemistry)

Climate change; Water quality; Environmental and marine chemistry; Marine and freshwater chemistry
Work: 64 3 479 7917 | Home: 64 3 465 7150
Email: keith.hunter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Daniel Kingston (Geography)

Large-scale climate; Atmospheric circulation patterns; Hydroclimatology; Climate change
Work: 64 3 479 8971
Email: daniel.kingston@geography.otago.ac.nz

Dr Jennifer Rock (Centre for Science Communication, Zoology)

Aesthetics & paradigms in science; Climate change (ocean warming); Creative analogy & visual cognition in science communication; Integration of science & the arts: sci-art; Polar marine biology; Life history evolution; Thermal biology
Work: 64 3 479 5014
Email: jenny.rock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Marc Schallenberg (Zoology)

Limnology (lakes) and wetland ecology; Impacts of climate change on aquatic ecosystems; Aquatic microbial ecology; Pollutants in aquatic ecosystems; Paleoecology of lakes and wetlands; Freshwater ecology; Limnology; Didymo; Aquatic pollution; Wetlands; Algae; Cyanobacteria; Climate change
Work: 64 3 479 7989
Email: marc.schallenberg@otago.ac.nz

Professor Rachel Spronken-Smith (Graduate Research School)

Inquiry-based learning; Research-teaching links; Graduate outcomes; Doctoral education; Urban climatology
Work: 64 3 479 5655
Email: rachel.spronken-smith@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gary Wilson (Marine Science)

Ocean and climate history; Palaeomagnetism; Sediments and strata; Antarctica's role in global environmental change
Work: 64 3 479 4104 | Mobile: 64 21 731 489
Email: gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz