Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Geology

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Marco Brenna (Geology)

Geology; Volcanology | Mobile: 64 21 027 20601
Email: marco.brenna@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Alan Cooper (Geology)

Alpine fault plate boundary; Antarctic geology; Mineralogy; Petrology; Carbonatites; Metamorphic rocks of NZ
Work: 64 3 479 7515 | Home: 64 3 453 5381
Email: alan.cooper@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Craw (Geology)

Economic geology, particularly gold; Mineralogy; Geochemistry; Environmental geology
Work: 64 3 479 7529
Email: dave.craw@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ewan Fordyce (Geology)

Evolution, fossil record, extinction, anatomy, systematics, and ecology of (1) whales and dolphins, (2) penguins, (3) marine reptiles; Fossils in general; Evolution and extinction, in origins and evolutionary history of NZ animals and plants; Geological history and stratigraphy of NZ over last 100 million years
Work: 64 3 479 7510
Email: ewan.fordyce@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Andrew Gorman (Geology)

Seismology; Seismic oceanography; Marine geology; Gas hydrates; Methane hydrates; Geophysics; Earthquakes; Oil and gas (hydrocarbon) exploration; Petroleum resources
Work: 64 3 479 7516
Email: andrew.gorman@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Daphne E. Lee (Geology)

Paleontology; Fossil invertebrates, particularly brachiopods; Paleobotany; Geological education in NZ
Work: 64 3 479 7525
Email: daphne.lee@otago.ac.nz

Dr Christian Ohneiser (Geology)

Antarctic past climate; Rockmagnetism; Sedimentology; Paleoclimatology; Antarctica; Paleoceanography
Work: 64 3 479 7350 | Mobile: 64 21 343 092
Email: christian.ohneiser@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Palin (Geology)

Rocks and minerals; Trace element and isotope geochemistry; Geologic carbon sequestration; Geology of USA and Australia; Planetary geology; Baseball
Work: 64 3 479 9083 | Home: 64 3 453 1083
Email: michael.palin@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Prior (Geology)

Ice microstructure and mechanics; Ice sheets and ice flow; Rock Deformation, rock mechanics; Microstructures analysis and electron microscopy; Grain scale processes in materials; The Alpine Fault Zone
Work: 64 3 479 5279
Email: david.prior@otago.ac.nz

Dr Virginia Toy (Geology)

Structural geology; Tectonics; Engineering geology; Earthquake processes and hazards
Work: 64 3 479 7506 | Mobile: 64 21 127 1012
Email: virginia.toy@otago.ac.nz

Professor James White (Geology)

Physical volcanology; Pyroclastic deposits; Sedimentology; Magma-water interaction; Lahars; Sediment transport; Post-eruptive flooding; Density currents; Volcanoes; Undersea eruptions
Work: 64 3 479 9009
Email: james.white@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gary Wilson (Marine Science)

Ocean and climate history; Palaeomagnetism; Sediments and strata; Antarctica's role in global environmental change
Work: 64 3 479 4104 | Mobile: 64 21 731 489
Email: gary.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz