Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Marine Science

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Federico Baltar (Marine Science)

Microbial oceanography; Aquatic microbial ecology; Marine biogeochemistry
Work: 64 3 479 5621
Email: federico.baltar@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Mike Barker (Marine Science)

Marine ecology; Marine aquaculture (specifically larval ecology and breeding of marine invertebrates and roe enhancement of sea urchins); Biology of echinoderms
Work: 64 3 479 5820
Email: mike.barker@otago.ac.nz

Professor Steven Dawson (Marine Science)

Biology and ecology of whales and dolphins; Hector's dolphins; Marine conservation biology; Sonar and acoustic communication; Sperm whales
Work: 64 3 479 7468
Email: steve.dawson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Andrew Gorman (Geology)

Seismology; Seismic oceanography; Marine geology; Gas hydrates; Methane hydrates; Geophysics; Earthquakes; Oil and gas (hydrocarbon) exploration; Petroleum resources
Work: 64 3 479 7516
Email: andrew.gorman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Chris Hepburn (Marine Science)

Coastal primary productivity; Seaweeds; Customary fishery management; Ocean acidification
Work: 64 3 479 7462
Email: chris.hepburn@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Hilton (Geography)

Coastal processes; Sea-level change; Coastal erosion; Coastal policy; Coastal management
Work: 64 3 479 8778
Email: mjh@geography.otago.ac.nz

Professor Keith Hunter (Sciences)

Climate change; Water quality; Environmental and marine chemistry; Marine and freshwater chemistry
Work: 64 3 479 7917 | Home: 64 3 465 7150
Email: keith.hunter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Miles Lamare (Marine Science)

Marine invertebrate larval life-histories, ecology and physiology; Antarctic Marine Invertebrate Biology and Ecology; Photo-biology and UV protection in marine invertebrates; Population dynamics and ecology of invertebrates in New Zealand; Fiord marine ecology
Work: 64 3 479 7463 | Home: 64 3 476 1102 | Mobile: 64 21 104 9475
Email: miles.lamare@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jennifer Rock (Centre for Science Communication, Zoology)

Aesthetics & paradigms in science; Climate change (ocean warming); Creative analogy & visual cognition in science communication; Integration of science & the arts: sci-art; Polar marine biology; Life history evolution; Thermal biology
Work: 64 3 479 5014
Email: jenny.rock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lisa Russell (Zoology)

Marine botany and ecology ; Invasive seaweeds ; Taxonomy; Large undergraduate biology class teaching; First-year Biology
Work: 64 3 479 9618
Email: lisa.russell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Candida Savage (Marine Science)

Marine ecology
Work: 64 3 479 8324
Email: candida.savage@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Liz Slooten (Zoology)

Environmental effects of fishing, tourism and pollution; Marine mammals, especially Hector's dolphins and sperm whales; Conservation biology; Population modelling; Marine Conservation
Work: 64 3 479 7980
Email: liz.slooten@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Abigail Smith (Marine Science)

Marine sedimentology; Sediment transport; Sediment texture; Bryozoans; Fouling by bryozoans; Carbonate sediments; Carbonate mineralogy; Carbonate geochemistry; Biogenic sediments; Biological transport; Temperate reefs; Temperate carbonates; Marine geochemistry
Work: 64 3 479 7470
Email: abby.smith@otago.ac.nz

Dr Wayne Stephenson (Geography)

Coastal geomorphology; Coastal management; Coastal erosion; Sea level rise; Tsunami; Coastal Hazards; Cliff erosion
Work: 64 3 479 8776
Email: wayne.stephenson@otago.ac.nz

Mrs Emily Tidey (School of Surveying)

Hydrographic Surveying
Work: 64 3 479 7587
Email: emily.tidey@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jon Waters (Zoology)

New Zealand natural history ; DNA evolution ; Conservation biology ; Biogeography ; Biodiversity ; Freshwater fish; Marine biology
Work: 64 3 479 5847
Email: jon.waters@otago.ac.nz

Professor Stephen Wing (Marine Science)

Fisheries Science; Marine Ecology; Marine Conservation; Marine Management in Fiordland and Stewart Island; Marine Reserves; Coastal Fishes and Invertebrates
Work: 64 3 479 9038
Email: steve.wing@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz